The late Rev. **John Barr** entered on the ministry at a late period in life, and was not long spared to perform the duties of the pastoral office which he loved, but during his few years of service he was enabled to do a good work for his Master, carrying into the ministry the same conscientiousness, humility, and kindliness which had characterized him in private life. He never made an enemy and he gained the love and respect of his brethren in the ministry, of his congregation, and of the community in which he lived.

## ELECTION OF MODERATOR.

It was moved by Mr. Mann, seconded by Mr. Robert Campbell, and carried unanimously, That the Rev. Duncan Morrison, M.A., Minister of Owen Sound, be Moderator for the year; and he being present took the chair and thanked the House.

#### THANKS TO THE RETIRING MODERATOR.

On motion of Dr. Jenkins, seconded by Mr. Mann, and passed unanimously, the Moderator tendered to Mr. Mylne, retiring Moderator, the thanks of the Synod for the appropriate discourse preached by him this day and for his whole conduct as Moderator.

# COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS.

The Moderator, the Clerk and Mr. George Bell were appointed a Committee to arrange the order of business that may come before the Court.

## HOURS OF MEETING.

It was agreed to adopt the following hours of meeting during the present session, with a view to afford more time for the meetings of Committees than has hitherto been allotted, viz:—in the forenoon, from twelve to one; in the afternoon, from three to half-past five o'clock; and in the evening, from half-past seven to the close of the Diet.

### APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

The Synod proceeded to appoint the following Committees:-

1. On Bills and Overtures:—The Moderator, Convener; the Clerk, Dr. Muir, Dr. Hogg, Messrs. Tawse, James Bain, Robert Burnet, Wm. Bell, George D. Ferguson, Robert Campbell, Joshua Fraser, Clark, Alexander Mackay, McEwen, Wilson, McGillivray, Alexander Macdonald, Currie, James B. Muir, Charles Campbell, Donald Fraser, James B. Mullan, Mackee, Bennett, Murray, Smith, William Anderson, D. J. McLean; Patton, Russell, Hugh Robertson, Norman McRae, Paul, Treadwell, Malcolm Galbraith, Macmurchy (West King), John Carmichael, Glen, Young, Ball, Allan.

MINU

2.—On Reference ; the C Kenneth Mac D. M. Gordon Aitken, Jame lean; Arch. I Morris, McGo Romaine, Jol

3.—To revi

4. To revie Messrs. Macp Porteous, Jo Macmorine, Cochrane, Y Macdougall, McQuaig, Mc Johnston, W

5. To draf McNish and

6. To draf Convener; N

7. On app Ministry:—I Tawse, Patt (Dundee), St Treadwell, M

There wer leave to reti Rev. Dr. Ba Archibald V

There was the Colonies Address of I foot of the Cona the Synod's General.

The Synoversity of Q Dr. Jenkins