of Canadian trade. In certain countries consular officers are designated to act for the Department of Transport under the terms of the Canada Shipping Act.

The Department in recent years has attempted to reduce restrictions on the travel abroad of Canadian citizens, and arrangements are now in force which enable Canadians to enter a number of European countries for periods of up to two or three months without visas. These countries are: Austria (other than the Soviet Zone), Belgium, Denmark, France (including Algeria and Tunisia), Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The issuance of travel documents within Canada is performed by the Passport Office, which is a Section of the Consular Division. In 1954, the Passport Office issued 70,973 passports and renewed 10,900. Certificates of identity are also granted to bona fide residents of Canada who are unable to obtain passports or other travel documents from their country of origin. In 1954, 5,620 certificates of identity were issued, while 1,487 were renewed. The fees received by the Passport Office during 1954 amounted to \$401,308.54.

A list of Canadian consular posts abroad will be found in Appendix B, and a complete list of foreign consular agents in Canada in the quarterly publication of the Department entitled Canadian Representatives Abroad and Representatives of Other Countries in Canada.