therein appointed, not being more than Six Months after the passing of this Act, the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick shall form and be One Dominion under the Name of Canada; and on and after that Day those Three Provinces shall form and be One Dominion under that Name accordingly.

Construction of subsequent Provisions of this Act shall, unless of subsequent Provisions of it is otherwise expressed or implied, commence and have guent Provisions of Act. effect on and after the Union, that is to say, on and after the Day appointed for the Union taking effect in the Queen's Proclamation; and in the same Provisions, unless it is otherwise expressed or implied, the Name Canada shall be taken to mean Canada as constituted under this Act.

All the Provinces form Part of Canada.—In Attorneys-General for New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island v. Attorney-General for Canada (the Representation Case) 1905 A.C., 49, Sir Arthur Wilson, delivering the judgment of the Board, referring to the meaning of the words 'the aggregate population of Canada,' as they occur in s. 51, sub-s. 4, said:—

'By s. 4, Canada is defined as meaning "unless it is otherwise expressed or implied Canada as constituted under this Act." Under the scheme of the Act the Dominion was not constituted by the immediate operation of the Act itself. The territory included in the four original provinces was incorporated by proclamation issued under the authority of s. 3. The territory included in the provinces subsequently incorporated was admitted by orders-in-council issued under s. 146. In their Lordships' opinion all these provinces equally form part of Canada as constituted under the Act.'

Four Provinces.

5. Canada shall be divided into Four Provinces, named Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.

Additional Provinces.—In the Representation Case, supra, p. 45, Sir Arthur Wilson, delivering the judgment of the Board, said:—

'Canada in the widest sense of the term now comprises, in addition to the four original provinces of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, three other provinces which have entered the Dominion at various dates subsequent to its firs Edu hav

Prov Onta Quel

Prov Nova and Brun Dece Cens

Deck of E Powe Quee

In I of N this Coumea

Appli of Pr sions ring Gove Gene

of Processing Country Cana