Banquet a success



H. Kennth Corbett Medal winner Joanne **BRIAN OLIVER Photo** MacLean.

The annual Athletics Banquet was held Wednesday night at the SUB. The big winners were David Harding, Donna Phillips and Joanne McLean. Dave won Male Athlete of the Year, Donna Phillips, Female Athlete of the Year, while Joanne McLean received the H. Kenneth Corbett Medal.

Joanne McLean was a member of the 1980 Red Sticks Field Hockey team which won the AUAA Championships and finished 3rd at CIAU Championships. She was also an AUAA Conference All-Star. As a UNB Red Bloomer this year, Joanne captained the team to an AUAA Championship and a fourth place finish at the CIAU's. She was selected to the All-Star team at CIAU Championships in Guelph.

Donna Phillips, member of the 1980 Red Sticks, was unable to pick up her award as she had left for Argentina with the World Cup Field Hockey Team. Here at UNB, Donna was AUAA Conference All-Star and the second highest scorer in AUAA Western Division. Donna was a member of Tournament II at CIAU Championships. At the championships, Donna scored eight goals in five games, including both goals over University of Toronto, to force a tie breaker for second place.

Dave Harding had the honor of being the first to receive the new Labatt Shield. Dave was the least scored against soccer goalie in Canada in university play. Dave played with the N.B. Drydock team, who won the Canadian National Title and on the UNB Red Shirts, who won the CIAU championship. Selected to AUAA All-Conference team and All-Canadian CIAU for the last two years, Dave also found time to be president of the Phys Ed and Recreation Society, trainer of the Raiders Basketball team and co-ordinator of the intramural soccer program.

The H. Kenneth Corbett Medal was donated to the university by alumnus Garnet Copeland who named it in honour of a fine athelete and close friend from the class of 1936. It is awarded to an allround athlete in any year.

The Colin B. Mackay Shield for top female athlete was donated in 1965 by Patricia Pickard, a 1964 graduate of UNB who is now director of

athletics at Laurentian University. In 1974, the Board of Governors named the award for a former president of UNB. The shield is awarded to an outstanding athlete in her final year, and her leadership, attitude and skill level over a several year period are taken into account.

The awards winners for top female/male athletes and the H. Kenneth Corbett Medal are chosen by a committee composed of the president of the university, the president of the SRC, the co-ordinator of women's athletics, the coordinator of men's athletic and the dean of physical education and recreation.

All players on varsity teams are rated by their coaches at the close of the season. The ratings are "A" for outstanding, "B" for a steady, reliable athlete, and "C" for staying on the team. Athletes rated A for one year or B for two years of play are awarded letters. After four years, an athlete who received at least three A ratings and one B is awarded a scroll for distinction.



BASKETBALL-Women

MVP - Ann McClellan

Letter Winners Joanne MacLean Ann McClellan Sandra Hill Jill Jeffrey

BASKETBALL-Men Rookie of the Year -

Brian Ross NECC All Star Award -

Chris McCabe

MVP - Scott Devine FIELD HOCKEY

MVP - Mary McCann

Letter Winners Mary Lu Heckbert **Nancy Drope** Joanne McLean Susan Grady

GYMNASTICS

Gymnast of the Year Scott Hill

FOOTBALL Most Valuable Offense

-Mike Washburn Most Valuable Defense Mark Vendramin - Top Ground Gainer

-Steve Corscadden

-J. R. Robinson

MVP - Mike Washburn

Letter Winners Wayne Caldwell **Greg Clarke** Jim Cossey Tim MacKay **Edward Tighe** Mark Vendramin Stewart Cudmore Junior Robinson

DISTINCTION

Greg Didur Mike MacIntryre Robert Lockwood

SWIMMING & DIVING

MVP - Nicki DeVries

Gilman Leach Memorial Award Peter Barton MVP Diving - Danny Kairns

> Letter winners Janelle Brewer **Gail Docherty** Darrell O'Brien Danny Kairns

WRESTLING

Most Valuable Player

Paul Simmonds

Letter winners Rick Fray Dave Burchill **David Matthews**

DISTINCTION Leo McGee

Gabriel ElKhoury

HOCKEY **Violette Memorial Award Outstanding Defencemen** -Dave Bluteau

Rookie of the Year Paul Strang MVP Kevin Rochford

Letter winners Scott Brogan Mike Goodfellow Claude Grenier **Kevin Rochford** DISTINCTION **Brian Craig**

CROSS COUNTRY

Peake Memorial Trophy -Joe Lehmann Dr. F.J. Love Trophy -**Greg Grondin**

SOCCER

Canon W.J. Clarke Award Forward

Ebenezer Dania

Canon W.J. Clarke Award - Defense

David A. Harding



Labatt Shield winner David Harding.

BRIAN OLIVER Photo

Letter winners R. May

D. Rouse T. Rawlinson

M.F. Foley L. Courvoisier

DISTINCTION Tim Hicks **Ed Hanson**



MARCH 20

Black Be weekend t went to Wrestling C in Charlotte came bac Simmonds weight cla and Rick I kilograms, wrestlers the New B Team. Bo easily, cap season for was also s Atlantic Pr represent vinces at tional Seni ships in St. and 24. The third McGee. L fought for and won Senior wei

looking to Foi

going with

Canadian I

By PE Coach

On Friday several k competing Forestry ship. The year Fores had judge more than suppresse ple of run the opposi its place. mostly s made up o This prove

In The Phys

Intramural heavily o ment to petitive In The succe Women's is due in l efforts an student o are emple venors a and are p recognitio tions to th tions are in the Rec A120 L.B. season. Ti ty to be p program, ple, assun ty and perience. tion cont

453-4579.