Johnson

Government Orders

Madam Deputy Speaker: Thank you. We will not get into a debate as to the reasons.

I will take 15 seconds to explain what happened earlier so that people who are watching this long vote will know.

When Motion No. 4 was put to the House earlier tonight, the hon. member was not in the House. Still that motion was brought forward even though it should not have been. When we arrived at a later motion, someone brought it up to the Speaker's attention and the motion was not put to the House because the proposer was not present at the time.

[Translation]

Since Motion No. 4 was lost, the next question will be on Motion No. 5.

[English]

Flis

The next question is on Motion No. 5.

The House divided on Motion No. 5, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 155)

YEAS

Members Althouse Anawak Angus Arseneault Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Bevilacqua Blaikie Black Butland Callbeck Catterall Copps Edmonston Dingwall Fisher Gaffney Gagliano Guarnieri Gardine Harvard Harvey (Edmonton East) Heap Hovdebo Karpoff Keves Kindy MacLellan Marchi McCurdy McLaughlin Murphy Nault Nowlan Ouellet Pagtakhan Rideout Skelly (North Island-Powell River) Saint-Julien Taylor Wappel Whittaker-43

> NAYS Members

> > Atkinson

Bourgault

Chadwick

Chartrand

Della Noce

Clifford

Couture

Dobbie

Ferland

Friesen

Gibeau

Guilbault

Hogue

Hudon

Jacques

Harvey (Chicoutimi)

Fee

Duplessis

Bernier

Anderson Belsher Blackburn (Jonquière) Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Cole DeBlois Desiardins Duceppe Edwards Feltham Fontaine Gérin Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Greene Grey (Beaver River) Gustafson Hicks Horning Hughes

Kempling Lapierre Layton Marin Plamondon Porter Robitaille Roy-Arcelin Shields Soetens Stevenson Tétreault Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Venne Vincent

Worthy-77

Allmand

Anawak

Bélair

Arseneault

Joncas Koury Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Moore Plourde Ricard Rocheleau Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sobeski Sparrow Tardif Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Van De Walle Vien Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia)

PAIRED MEMBERS

Arseneault Blondin Cadieux Campbell (South West Nova) Clancy Cooper Crosby (Halifax West) Darling Ferguson Harvard Kaplan Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) MacDonald (Dartmouth) Marchi Martin (Lasalle-Émard) Masse Mazankowski McKnight Milliken Nunziata Ouellet Phinney Richardson Rompkey Shields Stewart Turner (Halton-Peel) Vézina

Anderson Bird Caccia Callbeck Catterall Clark (Yellowhead) Copps Danis de Cotret Gustafson Jelinek Karygiannis Layton Maheu Marleau Martin (Lincoln) Maver McCreath McLean Nault O'Kurley Pagtakhan Redway Rideout Schneider Simmons Thorkelson Valcourt Weiner

Madam Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

The next question is on Motion No. 6.

The House divided on Motion No. 6, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 156)

YEAS

Members

Angus Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bevilacqua