COUNTRY GROUPINGS USED IN THIS REPORT

Northern America: Canada and United States (excluding Puerto Rico).

Latin America: Mexico, the Caribbean (excluding Cuba), Central and South America.

Western Europe: European members of the OECD.

Middle East: Arabian Peninsula, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria.

Western Hemisphere: North and South America, their islands and surrounding waters.

Eastern Hemisphere: Africa, Asia, Australia and Europe, their islands and surrounding waters.

Centrally Planned Economies (CPEs): Albania, Bulgaria, China, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Kampuchea, Laos, Mongolia, North Korea, Poland, Romania, U.S.S.R., Vietnam and Yugoslavia.

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Members of the European Economic Community – Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, United Kingdom and West Germany – plus Australia, Austria, Canada, Finland, Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United States.

Less Developed Countries (LDCs): Non-Communist (including OPEC) countries outside of the OECD. This group includes the majority of the countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America.

Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC): Algeria, Ecuador, Gabon, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. (Neutral Zone output is shared equally by Saudi Arabia and Kuwait.)

Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries (OAPEC): Abu Dhabi, Algeria, Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria and Tunisia. (Neutral Zone output is shared equally by Saudi Arabia and Kuwait.)

International Energy Agency (IEA): Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and West Germany.