MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, February 25, 1960.

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 10.30 a.m. this day, for organization purposes.

Members present: Messrs. Aiken, Cadieu, Coates, Dumas, Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke), Godin, Korchinski, MacRae, Martel, McFarlane, McGregor, McQuillan, Mitchell, Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria), Nielsen, Payne, Roberge, Robichaud, Smith (Calgary South), and Stearns—(20).

The Clerk attending and having called for nominations, Mr. Coates moved, seconded by Mr. MacRae, that Mr. McQuillan be elected Chairman of the Committee.

There being no further nominations, Mr. McQuillan was declared duly elected as Chairman.

The Chairman thanked the Committee for the honour conferred on him. He then read the Committee's Order of Reference.

On motion of Mr. Cadieu, seconded by Mr. Korchinski,

Resolved,—That Mr. Nielsen be Vice-Chairman of the Committee. On motion of Mr. MacRae, seconded by Mr. Aiken,

Resolved,—That a sub-committee on Agenda and Procedure comprised of the Chairman and six other persons designated by him be appointed.

On motion of Mr. Smith (Calgary South), seconded by Mr. Korchinski,

Resolved,—That the Committee recommended to the House that it be empowered to print such papers and evidence as may be ordered by the Committee, and that Standing Order 66 be suspended in relation thereto.

Moved by Mr. Nielsen, seconded by Mr. Stearns, that leave be asked to sit while the House is sitting.

Carried on Division.

At 11.00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to call of the Chair.

Tuesday, March 22, 1960. (2)

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 9.30 o'clock a.m. this day. The Chairman, Mr. H. C. McQuillan, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Aiken, Baskin, Cadieu, Coates, Doucett, Dumas, Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke), Granger, Gundlock, Hicks, Kindt, Korchinski, Leduc, Martin (Timmins), McFarlane, McQuillan, Mitchell, Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria), Nielsen, Simpson, Slogan, Stearns—(22).

In attendance: The Honourable Alvin Hamilton, Minister, R. G. Robertson, Deputy Minister, E A. Côté, Assistant Deputy Minister, and officials of the Water Resources Branch; all of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.