MUNICIPAL SCHOOL BOARD ADVOCATED AT STONEWALL

At a largely attended meeting at Stonewall on Friday, March 30th last, Mr .S. R. Henderson of East Kildonan, spoke on the great advantage this system of school government would be to municipality like Rockwood. a He stated that it would mean a united effort of the whole municipality to improve the educational system in the municipality, instead of each school district working out its own problems unconcerned as to what is going on in the other districts around it, as at present; it would mean uniformity of taxation, economy of administration and better teachers for the average school; a wide choice of competent trustees who would take a live interest in school matters. Mr. Henderson told how well the system was working in the urban municipalities of East and West Kildonan.

Mr. W. C. McKinnel, special investigator for the Department of Public Works; Miss J. Stafford, of Tecumseh

school; Miss M. Best, teacher of Gunton Consolidated school; H. D. Cummings, Principal of Teulon Consolidated school, and Miss C. E. Wood, of Teulon school, all spoke very strongly of the advantages of the Municipal School Board.

The meeting showed their sympathy and support of the movement by appointing a strong committee to visit all the schools in the Municipality of Rockwood, to obtain the views of the people and report later.

This is the first live movement for municipal school boards started in any rural municipality in the province, and we hope that Rockwood Municipality wil have their Municipal School Board in good working order by January 1, 1918.

We would be glad to hear from any other municipality in the province who is seriously considering taking steps to form a municipal school board.

OFFICERS OF DIVISIONS FOR 1917.

Elementary Division - President, J. W. Beckett; secretary, Miss F. Budd.

Secondary Division-President, J. R. Hamil-

ton; secretary, W. Sadler. Classics — Chairman, Prof. R. O. Jolliffe; secretary, T. C. Jerrom. Science—Chairman, W. Sadler; secretary,

E. F. Willoughby.

History-Chairman, G. J. Reeve; secretary, S. Burland.

Home Economics-Chairman, Miss M. H. Haliday; secretary, Miss A. Cuthbert. Supervisors and Supervising Principals-

Chairman, A. E. Hearn; secretary, Miss Ptolemy.

English --- Chairman Miss E. S. Colwell; secretary, Miss J. Yemen.

Mathematics-Chairman, T. A. Neelin; secretary, W. F. Loucks.

Industrial Education - Chairman, H. J. Russell; secretary, W. F. Baskerville. Intermediate and High School Principals-

Chairman, G. J. Elliott; secretary, J. G. Johannsson.

Modern Languages-Chairman, Prof. W. F. Osborne; secretary, Miss S. Mackenzie.

EXCHANGE OF COURTESIES.

From the president of the Manitoba Teachers' association to the presidents of the Associations of Saskatchewan and Alberta:

"The Manitoba Teachers in Convention assembled send greeting. Better schools and better citizens; higher ideals and nobler service."-A. C. Campbell.

Reply from Saskatchewan-

"Saskatchewan Educational Association in Convention assembled send greetings. Victory and educational reconstruction after the war."-Miss Christian McGregor.

Reply from Alberta-

"Reciprocal greetings from fourteen hundred teachers in Convention."-E. W. Coffin, President.