Clerk-John Kendrick. Supt. schools-H. Washburn.

Yonge.

Population 3,419.

Reeve-Joshua Bates.

Council — Harmonius Alguire, Joseph J. McIntosh, Nelson Ship-

man, Ira Mallory. Clerk—John Purvis, Yonge Mills. Supt. schools—Joshua Johnston.

Augusta.

Population 4,296. Reove—Wm. Garvey. Deputy reeve—James Howard. Council—Thos. Kelly, Wm. Humph-

ries, Charles Lane.

Clerk-Philemon Pennock, Maitland.

Supt. schools-James Clapperton.

Edwardsburg.

Population, 3,746.

Reeve- Allan Hunter.

Deputy Reeve-Levi Adams.

Council - George Holmes, James

Keller, John Adams.

Clerk-John Mitchell. Spencerville. Superintendent Schools-Rev. Jas. Geggie.

South Gower.

Population, 722.

Reeve-Nicholas J. Shaver.

Council-James McGee, Milo Mc-

Carger, David Shark, Benjamin Beach.

Clerk-Wm. Beach.

Superintendent Schools-Rev. Harvey McAlpin.

Oxford.

Population, 3,759.

Reeve-Henry Burritt.

Deputy Reeve-Robt. Kernahan.

Council-Wm. H. Bottom, Ambrose Clothier, Benjamin Tompkin.

lothier, Benjamin Tompki Clerk—Robt. Leslie.

Superintendent Schools-Rev. Harvey McAlpin.

Wolford.

Population, 2,884.

Reeve-John L. Read.

Deputy Reeve-Eleazar H. Whitmarsh.

- Council-Samuel S. Easton, Philip Wickwire, Robt. Putnam.
- Clerk-Rickey Waugh.

Superintendent Schools - Thomas Graff.

The Earl of Elgin and Kincardine was Governor-General at that time, and the executive council of the province was as follows:

President of the Council-Hon. Joseph Bourrett.

Attorney-General East-Hon. L. H. Lafontaine.

Provincial Secretary and Registrar -Hon. J. Leslie.

Attorney-General West-Hon. R. Baldwin.

Inspector-General - Hon. Francis Hincks.

Commissioner of Crown Lands-Hon. J. H. Price.

Receiver General-Hon. E. P. Tache, Commissioner Public Works-Hon. W. H. Merritt.

Hon. Jas. Morris, of Brockville, was a member of the Legislative Council of Canada.

The clergy in the district were:-Church of England, Brockville-E. Denroche, M.A.

Lamb's Pond-W. H. Gunning, A.B. Prescott-Robert Blakey.

Kemptville-H. McAlpin.

Church of Scotland, Brockville-

South Gower-Joseph Anderson.

Perth-1st church, Wm. Bell; St. Andrew's, Wm. Bain.

Presbyterian Church of Canada, Prescott-Robt. Boyd. Brockville-John McMurray. 7

Spencerville-Jas. Geggie, P.C. South Gower-W. J. McDowell.

Vacant charges—Bellamyville, Burritt's Rapids, Merrickville, Yonge, North Gower.

Ministers witnout pastoral charge-Wm. Smart, Jas. Cairns.

Roman Catholic Church.

Rt. Rev. Remy Gaulin was bishop of Kingston; Rt. Rev. Patrick Phelan coadjutor and administrator. Parish priests were:

Brockville-Oliver Kelly. Prescott-Edward P. Roche. Kemptville-Daniel Farrelly. Smith's Falls-Peter O'Connell. Gananoque-John Foley.

Wesleyan Methodist Church.

Pastors were: Brockville-Noble F. English. Prescott-Jas. Elliott. Augusta-John Lever, Wm. Burns Kemptville-Geo, Benyon.

75