An Act to render void the Proclamation declaring Walkerton the County Town of the County of Bruce, and to divide the said County into two separate Counties.

WHEREAS, under the authority of the Act twenty-second Victoria, Preamble. chapter one hundred and eleven, intituled "An Act to provide 22 V., c. 111. for the selection of a County Town for the County of Bruce" the

- for the selection of a County Town for the County of Bruce," the Governor in Council issued a Proclamation dated the eighth day of 5 November, 1860, appointing Walkerton to be the County Town of the County of Bruce, one of the united Counties of Huron and Bruce; And whereas the selection of Walkerton has not been found satisfactory to the people of the said County, and consequently no progress has been made in the erection of County buildings; and whereas the
- 10 Provisional Council of the said County of Bruce have presented a petition to Parliament praying for a Act to make void the proclamation making Walkerton the County Town of the said County, and to divide the said County into two Counties, naming the County Towns thereof; and whereas there is reason for believing that the provisions
- 15 hereinafter contained would be for the advantage of the said County of Bruce, and it is expedient to grant the prayer of the said petition, therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:
- 1. The said proclamation of the eighth day of November, 1860, is Proclamation 20 hereby avoided.
  - 2. The present County of Bruce is divided into two Counties, to be County dividnamed respectively Bruce and Wallace.
  - 3. As between the said two Counties, Bruce, shall be the senior Senior County and Wallace the junior County.
- 25 4. As between the said Counties and the County of Huron, Huron As to Union shall, as hitherto, be the senior County, and the said two Counties of of Huron and Bruce and Wallace shall together be the junior County within the meaning of the Act respecting the municipal institutions of Upper Canada; and the present United Counties of Huron and Bruce, until 30 the union is dissolved, may either continue to be designated the United Counties of Huron and Bruce, or may be designated as the United Counties of Huron, Bruce and Wallace.
- 5. The County of Bruce shall consist of the Townships of Kincar-New County dine, Huron, Kinloss, Culross, Carrick, Brant, and all that part of the of Bruce.

  35 Township of Greenock south of the line between the seventeenth and eighteenth concessions in the said Township and the Village of Kincardine.
- 6. The County of Wallace shall consist of the Village of South-County of ampton and the Townships of Bruce, Arran, Saugeen, Amabel, Albe-Wallace.
  40 marle, Eastnor, St. Edmund and Elderslie, and all that part of the