Senator Murray: —that would have reintegrated Quebec into the Canadian constitutional family.

Senator Frith: In the words of Senator Flynn, "Oh, gee."

Senator Flynn: No. I say, "What a pitiful group you are!"

Senator Frith: The same to you, sir!

Senator Perrault: Save your speech for later today.

Senator Murray: It is as incredible as it is sad-

Senator Robichaud: What you are saying is nonsense!

[Translation]

Senator Murray: That only goes to show how much my honorable friends opposite are disconnected from the reality in Quebec and in Canada.

Senator Simard: And cheap too!

[English]

Senator Murray: Honourable senators, this is a matter on which at least all of us on this side want to be counted; therefore, we shall have a vote on the motion.

Senator Guay: Did you bring this matter to the attention of the Prime Minister, if it is so urgent?

Senator Perrault: You would not want to miss Question Period, would you?

The Hon. the Speaker: Honourable senators, pursuant to rule 46(g), it is moved by the Honourable Senator David, seconded by the Honourable Senator Chaput-Rolland:

That the Senate do now adjourn for the purpose of discussing a matter of urgent public importance, namely: the consequences of the failure of the Meech Lake Accord.

Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Senators: Yes.

Some Hon. Senators: No.

The Hon. the Speaker: Will those honourable senators in favour of the motion please say "yea"?

Some Hon. Senators: Yea.

The Hon. the Speaker: Will those honourable senators who are against the motion please say "nay"?

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Speaker: In my opinion the "nays" have it. *And two honourable senators having risen.*

The Hon. the Speaker: Please call in the senators.

• (1530)

The Hon. the Speaker: Let the doors to the chamber be locked.

Motion of Senator David negatived on the following division:

[Senator Frith.]

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Asselin	MacDonald
Atkins	(Halifax)
Balfour	Macquarrie
Barootes	Marshall
Beaudoin	Muir
Bélisle	Murray
Bielish	Nurgitz
Bolduc	Ottenheimer
Chaput-Rolland	Phillips
David	Poitras
Doody	Robertson
Doyle	Roblin
Flynn	Sherwood
Macdonald	Simard
(Cape Breton)	Tremblay—28.

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams Anderson	Leblanc (Saurel)
Austin	Lefebvre
Bonnell	Marchand
Buckwold	Marsden
Cools	
	Molgat
Corbin	Neiman
Davey	Olson
De Bané	Perrault
Denis	Petten
Fairbairn	Robichaud
Frith	Sparrow
Gigantès	Stanbury
Graham	Steuart
Guay	(Prince Albert
Haidasz	Duck Lake)
Hastings	Stewart
Hays	(Antigonish-
Hébert	Guysborough)
LeBlanc	Stollery
(Beauséjour)	Thériault—34.
()	

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Nil