In attendance: The Honourable Hugues Lapointe, Minister of Veterans Affairs, and the following departmental officials: Mr. G. L. Lalonde, Acting Deputy Minister; Mr. G. H. Parliament, Director General of Welfare Services; Mr. J. L. Melville, Chairman of the Canadian Pension Commission; Colonel F. J. G. Garneau, Chairman, War Veterans Allowance Board; Mr. F. L. Barrow, Secretary; Mr. W. Gordon Gunn, Q.C., Director of Legal Services; Mr. E. J. Rider, Research Adviser, and C. N. Knight, Director Social Services Division. Also, the Very Reverend Dean John O. Anderson, M.C., President; Mr. T. D. Anderson, Dominion Secretary; Mr. D. M. Thompson, Director of Service Bureau; Mr. T. A. Kines, Director of Administration, all of the Canadian Legion, B.E.S.L. Also, Mr. John Hundevad, Editor in Chief, and Mr. Lorne Manchester, Assistant Editor of The Legionary, and Mr. J. B. Bowler, C.B.E., Ministry representative of the British Ministry of Pensions.

The Committee commenced consideration Bill 164, An Act to amend the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1952.

The Minister of Veterans Affairs welcomed the delegation of the Canadian Legion on behalf of the Government and the Committee.

Dean Anderson was called and introduced the members of his delegation. He then presented a brief, was questioned thereon and retired.

Mr. Thompson was called, answered various questions arising out of the Legion's brief and was retired.

The Honourable Mr. Lapointe and Messrs. Lalonde and Garneau answered questions specifically referred to them.

The Chairman, on behalf of the Committee, thanked the Legion delegation for their brief and extended an invitation to them to appear again in the event of a further reference being made to the Committee in which the Legion is interested.

The Chairman informed the Committee that representatives of the National Council of Veterans Associations in Canada would appear at the next meeting of the Committee.

At 4.05 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to meet again at 10.30 o'clock a.m., Monday, March 14.

R. J. GRATRIX, Clerk of the Committee.