

The basic form and content of the passport were established at international conferences in Paris and Geneva; international meetings are still held to exchange information on such common concerns as increasing the security of the documents. Canada has consistently co-operated in adopting recommendations of these conferences.

The familiar "double blue" passport with the pale pink pages was introduced in 1947.

Eventually, for convenience and security considerations and to reduce the administrative burden on Ottawa, issuing offices were opened across the country in cities with major air terminals. The first three were in Vancouver, Montreal and Toronto.

In 1969, as a result of a royal commission of investigation, certain regulations tightened the passport issuing process. These included requiring documentary evidence of Canadian citizenship and limiting the non-renewable passport's validity to five years. At that time, the Passport Office also became self-supporting through its fee structure.

In 1985, machine-readable passports were introduced.

The Passport Office became a Special Operating Agency in 1990, and regional offices were organized into three reporting units: Eastern, Ontario and Western. The Office also became part of the Consular, Immigration and Passport Affairs Branch of External Affairs and International Trade Canada.



In 1991, the Security Enhancement Plan was introduced to further ensure the legitimacy of Canadian passports.

Under the Royal prerogative, the passport is not subject to statutory law, but there are laws which affect its issuance. Provincial family law acts, for example, determine whether non-custodial parents are allowed to take their children out of the country, and may require that passports be surrendered or special judicial permission obtained before getting a passport for a child. "Writing" passports, circa 1965.

La production de passeports, vers 1965.



1918 et 1965.

