#### 4. STATE AND GOVERNMENT

Governor: Vice Admiral Sir Humphrey Thomas Walwyn K.C.S.l., C.B., D.S.O.

#### Commission of Government

### U. K. appointees

Hon. Sir Wilfrid W. Woods - Public Utilities

Hon. Ira Wild

- Finance

Hon. P.D.H. Dunn

- Natural Resources

## Newfoundland appointees

Hon. H.A. Winter

- Home Affairs and Education

Hon. L. E. Emerson

- Justice and Defense

Hon. Sir John C. Puddester - Public Health and Welfare

The Commission of Government took office Feb.15, 1934.

### Judicature

Chief Justice Hon. Sir W. H. Horwood

Assistant Judges Hon. W. J. Higgins

Hon. B.E.S. Dunfield

# Character of the State Power in Newfoundland

Representative Government was granted in 1832 by an Act of the United Kingdom Parliament, and the first House of Assembly met on January 1, 1833. The Legislature was comprised of two branches: the Legislative Council (appointed) and the House of Assembly (elected).