other matters. The elections to civic honours take place annually, on the first Monday and Tuesday of January, and during these two days considerable excitement prevails in some of the Wards. From the list of Aldermen elected, the Mayor is chosen by the whole Council, the City Clerk, by virtue of his official character, presiding over the meeting, the friends of the Mayor apparent contenting themselves on such occasions with simply nominating their favorite candidate, without condescending to panegyric, the result being pretty definitely determined previously. The system of re-election for a first and second time to the Mayoralty has prevailed very generally, and where there is no manifest disqualification it is not only gratifying, as expressive of satisfaction with the previous administration, but prudent in so far as the management of civic affairs is concerned. There are many improvements projected in one year which require a couple of years or so to complete, and the Mayor being a member, ex officio, of all Committees, is by his experience enabled to render great service to the new Council, for even although many old members may be returned there is very generally an entire change of Committees. In cases of new election, however, the honour of Mayoralty is seldom if ever conferred upon one elected for the first time to the Council, a little civic service being considered indispensable. Since the incorporation of the City we have had the following Mayors :-

```
1834-Wm. Lyon Mackenzie.
                               1848
1835-R. B. Sullivan.
                               1849 George Gurnett.
1836-Dr. Morrison.
                               1850
1837—George Gurnett.
                               1851
                                     John G. Bowes.
1838
                               1852
1839 John Powell.
                               1853 )
1840)
                               1854—Joshua G. Beard.
1841—George Munro.
                               1855—George W. Allan.,
                              1856-John B. Robinson.
1842
1843 Henry Sherwood.
                              1857—John Hutchison.
1844)
                              1858-Wm, H. Boulton.
1845
      William H. Boulton.
1846
1847)
```

The Council meets every Monday evening at half-past seven o'clock throughout the year. The doors are open to the public, and every attention is paid to strangers to provide them with a comfortable seat within the bar where the discussions that take place may be fully heard.