A Message was brought from the House of Commons by their Clerk, in the following words:

House of Commons, Tuesday, 15th February, 1876.

Resolved, That a Message be sent to the Senate, informing their Honors that the name of Mr. Blanchet has been substituted for that of Hon. Mr. Holton, on the Select Committee appointed to assist Mr. Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament so far as the interests of this House are concerned; and to act as Members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library.

Ordered, That the Clerk of the House do carry the said Message to the Senate

Attest,

A. PATRICK, Clerk of the House.

And then he withdrew.

A Message was brought from the House of Commons by their Clerk, in the following words:—

House of Commons, Thursday, 17th February, 1876.

Resolved, That a Message be sent to the Senate, requesting that their Honors will unite with this House in the formation of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the subject of the Printing of Parliament; and that the Members of the Select Standing Committee on Printing, viz.:—Messieurs Bourassa, Bowell, Church, Delorme, De Veber, Dymond, Goudge, Lanthier, Laird, Ross (Middlesex), Ross (Prince Edward), Stephenson, Stirton, Thompson (Haldimand), and Wallace (Norfolk), will act as Members of the said Joint Committee on Printing.

Ordered, That the Clerk of the House do carry the said Message to the Senate.

Attest, A. Patrick,

Clerk of the House.

And then he withdrew.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Letellier de St. Just, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Scott, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Baillargeon, Bourinot, Chapais, Cornwall, Fabre, Ferguson, Haythorne, Miller, Montgomery, Reesor, Ryan, Irudel and Wilmot, be appointed a Committee to assist His Honor the Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament, so far as the interests of this House are concerned; and to act on behalf of this House as Members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library as desired by the House of Commons in their Message of Tuesday last.

Ordered, That the foregoing Resolution be communicated to the House of Com-

mons by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Letellier de St. Just, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Scott, it was

10

in,

al, at

nd no in

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Benson, Brown, Bureau, Campbell, Chapais, Chinic, Ferguson, Ferrier, Hamilton (Kingston), Howlan, Kaulbach, McClelan (Hopewell), McDonald (Toronto), McMaster, Macdonald (Victoria), Macpherson, Montgomery, Price, Ryan, Scott, Simpson, Skead, Smith, Sutherland, Vidal, Wark, Wilmot, Wilson, and the mover, be appointed a Committee on Banking, Commerce and Railways for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on those subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Letellier de St. Just, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Scott, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Aikins, Armand, Botsford, Brown, Campbell, Carrall, Chaffers, Cormier, Dickey, Dickson, Dumouchel, Girard, Hamilton (Inkerman), Leonard, McClelan (Hopewell), McLelan (Londonderry), McDonald (Toronto),