Private Members' Business

operations would be extremely difficult to implement in a modern transportation system.

I mentioned that inequities would arise in the application of our labour relations laws as they apply to industries under the Canada Labour Code. I referred to CN Rail as the example. The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation is also a Crown corporation.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): It being 1.49 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 93, the time provided for debate has expired.

[Translation]

The question is on the motion of the hon, member for Richelieu. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon, members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Call in the members.

And the bells having rung:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): The hon. member for Saint-Denis, on a point of order.

Mr. Marcel Prud'homme (Saint-Denis): Mr. Speaker, on a point of order.

Since this is a private member's bill, I hope the House will agree to let us vote row by row, according to the custom we adopted recently, instead of party by party. I ask this since it is a private member's bill.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Do I have unanimous consent for taking the division row by row?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Perhaps I may remind hon. members that the first to vote will be those who are in favour of the motion. I will start by requesting those members in the rows to the right of the Chair to

rise, followed by members in the rows to the left of the Chair.

Subsequently, I will ask members in the rows to the right of the Chair who are opposed to the motion to rise, and I will conclude with those in the rows to the left of the Chair.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Plamondon), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 312)

YEAS

Members

Allmand	Anawak
Arseneault	Assad
Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre)	Bellemare
Benjamin	Berger
Black	Blackburn (Jonquière)
Blaikie	Blondin
Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean)	Boyer
Breaugh	Butland
Callbeck	Campbell (South West Nova)
Champagne (Champlain)	Clancy
Crawford	de Jong
Dingwall	Dionne
Duceppe	Duhamel
Finestone	Fisher
Flis	Fontana
Foster	Gaffney
Gardiner	Gauthier
Harb	Hopkins
Hovdebo	Hunter
Jordan	Kaplan
Keyes	Kilger (Stormont - Dundas)
Kristiansen	Langan (Mission-Coquitlam)
Lapierre	Leblanc (Longueuil)
Lee	MacLaren
MacLellan	Maheu
Marchi	Marleau
McLaughlin	Milliken
Mitchell	Parent
Parker	Pickard
Plamondon	Prud'homme
Riis	Robinson
Rocheleau	Saint-Julien
Samson	Stewart
Stupich	Vanclief
Waddell	Wappel
Wood	Young (Beaches – Woodbine) – 7

NAYS

Members

Anderson	Andre
Atkinson	Attewell
Belsher	Bjornson
Blais	Blenkarn
Bourgault	Brightwell
Cadieux	Campbell (Vancouver Centre
Cardiff	Clark (Yellowhead)
Clark (Brandon-Souris)	Clifford
Cole	Collins
Cooper	Corbeil
Corbett	Couture
Crosby (Halifax West)	Darling
Dobbie	Domm