Social Development Ministry

necessary thinking and planning as we enter this next new decade.

The problems associated with pensions are among the most complex and urgent facing the country today and they are not going to get any better. By the year 2000 the number of senior citizens, now 2.2 million, will have grown to over three million. In Ontario the number will have almost doubled. If something is not done the aged are going to impose an extremely heavy burden on society in terms of pensions and social security.

It is my hope that the prime objective of this new department of social development will be to consolidate what we have learned in the past regarding the successes and failures of social programs, and to assess what the real social needs of the future are going to be. Only then can it realistically be determined what the social priorities for the next two decades will be and how the Canadian government is going to fund these programs. With regard to our growing elderly population, if there is not sound planning and a shift in attitudes, the economic and social implications by the turn of the century will be devastating.

With this anticipation, I am happy to support the passage of this order in council, and I hope to participate in that support this evening.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Blaker

Blenkarn

Bockstael

Buchanan

Bujold

Bosley

Bossy Bradley

Bloomfield

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Trudeau), which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 9)

YEAS

Messrs

Andre Bachand Baker (Nepean-Carleton) Beatty Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Berger Blais Bussières Caccia Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell (LaSalle) Cardiff Chrétien

Clark (Yellowhead) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Collenette Comtois Cooper Corbett Corbin Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Crombie Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Cullen Cvr Dantzer Daudlin Dawson De Band de Corneille Demers Deniger Dingwall Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois Duclos Dupont Dupras Duquet Ellis Elzinga Epp Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Evans Fennell Ferguson Fleming Forrestall Foster Fox Francis Fretz Friesen Garant Gass Gauthier Gendron

Messrs.

Gingras Gourd Gray Greenaway Guilbault Gurbin Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hargrave Harquail Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Howie Huntington Irwin Isabelle Jarvis Jelinek Johnston Kelly Kempling Kilgour Killens (Mrs.) King Korchinski Kushner Lachance Lambert Lamontagne Landers Lang Laniel Lapierre Lapointe (Charlevoix) La Salle Lawrence LeBlanc Lefebvre ewis MacBain MacDonald (Cardigan) MacGuigan Mackasey MacLaren Malone Maltais Marceau Massé Masters Mayer McCain McCauley

Mitges Nicholson (Miss) Nielsen Quellet Paproski Parent Patterson Pelletier Penner Penin Peterson Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Reid (St. Catharines) Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Robinso (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Roche Rompkey Rossi Roy Savard Schellenberger Schroder Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Simmons Smith Stevens Stewart Stollery Taylor Tessier Thacker Tobin Tousignant Towers Trudeau Turner Vankoughnet Watson Whelan Wright-172

NAYS

Parker

Rose

Skelly

Rae Robinson

(Burnaby)

Waddell-22

Messrs.

Knowles Kristiansen Lewycky Manly Murphy Nystrom Ogle Orlikow

[Translation]

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion carried. The hon. member for Ottawa-Vanier.

Mr. Jean-Robert Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier): Madam Speaker, the time normally allotted to hon. members for

McCuish

McGrath

McMillan

McLean

McDermid

Althouse Benjamin Blackburn Blaikie de Jong Fulton Hovdebo Jewett (Miss)