to have responsibility and jurisdiction for and in respect of it. The Cook Islands in the South Pacific are a self-governing territory associated with New Zealand; on October 19, 1974, the island of Niue assumed a similar status. The inhabitants of both territories are New Zealand citizens(3).

Dependent territories

In Commonwealth terminology, the phrase "dependent territories" includes some 30 remaining colonies, and trust territories exercising self-government to a greater or lesser degree. Most of these are dependencies of Britain; a few are dependencies of Australia and New Zealand. Papua New Guinea, a United Nations trust territory now administered by Australia, and the Seychelles Islands, a British dependency, have chosen to become independent shortly(4).

Evolution of the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth evolved from the British Empire through a gradual process that began in the nineteenth century. Many important developments first occurred in relation to what is now Canada. While there are many possible starting-points, a convenient one is Lord Durham's Report, published in 1839 following an inquiry into the causes of the rebellions in Upper and Lower Canada in 1836-37. One of Durham's key recommendations was that full selfgovernment should be granted to the governments in the Canadian colonies in all matters of concern to them. Under the recommendations of the Report, authority was reserved to the Imperial Government only in those fields deemed necessary to maintain imperial unity; these included control of foreign relations, the regulation of commerce, the determination of the constitution and the disposal of public lands. All other powers and functions, including the expenditure of public funds, were to be transferred to the colonial governments, to be exercised by executive councils responsible to elected legislative assemblies, and exercised only so long as they retained the support of the majorities in these assemblies. Following the Union of Upper and Lower Canada in 1840, this recommendation was implemented by stages during the next decade, the testing-point being the acceptance by the Governor-General, Lord Elgin, and by the British Government of the Rebellion Losses Bill of 1849. This effectively established the practice of full responsible self-government over the very wide range of matters within the control of the colonial government. Subsequently, the notion of responsible government with a wide area of local autonomy was extensively applied throughout the British Empire and the changes flowing from the general application of this con-

- (3) A list of associated states and self-governing territories is given in Appendix B.
- (4) A list of dependencies, showing their relations to a metropolitan power, appears as Appendix C.

3