Order Paper Questions

Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs): The International Development Research Centre informs the Government that:

Pursuant to the International Development Research Centre Act (Section 3), the Board of Governors is composed of the Chairman of the Board, the President of the Centre and not more than 19 other governors. Subsection 11(1) of the Act further stipulates that the Executive Committee of the Board shall consist of the Chairman, the President of the Centre and at least five other governors, annually elected from the Board in such a manner that a majority are Canadian citizens.

Members of the IDRC Board of Governors for fiscal year 1982/83 are as listed below. An asterisk indicates those governors who comprised the Executive Committee of the Board for the period in question.

Mr. Allison A. Ayida	Chairman, Fininvest Associates (Nigeria) Ltd., Lagos, Nigeria.
* Mr. Pierre Bauchet	University of Paris, Paris, France.
Dr. Gelia T. Castillo	Professor of Rural Sociology, University of the Phillippines at Los Banos, Phillippines.
* Mr. Norman T. Currie	President, Corporate Food Limited, Toronto, Ontario.
* Dr. Frank A. DeMarco	Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario.
* Dr. Liliane Filion-Laporte	Director of Family Medicine, St. Mary's Hospital, Montreal, Quebec.
* Mr. Ivan L. Head	President, International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Ontario.
* Dr. Carl-Göran Hedén	UNEP/UNESCO/CRO, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden.
Mr. Felipe Herrera	Retired (former President, Interamerican Development Bank) Santiago, Chile.
* Mr. Francis Keppel	Harvard University Graduate School of Education, Cambridge, Mass., U.S.A.
Dr. David J. Lawless	Professor, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba.
Dr. J. Maurice LeClair	President, Canadian National, Montreal, Quebec.
Mr. Hadj Mokhtar Louhibi	President and Director General, Algerian Inter- professional Grains Office, Algiers, Algeria.
* The Hon. Donald S. Macdonald (Chairman of the Board)	McCarthy & McCarthy Toronto, Ontario.
Mr. Marcel Massé	President, Canadian International Development Agency, Ottawa, Ontario.
Dr. Yelavarthy Nayudamma	Scientist, Central Leather Research Institute, Madras, India.
* The Hon. Rex M. Nettleford	Professor, University of the West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica.
Mr. Gordon F. Osbaldeston	Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ottawa, Ontario (resigned Feb. 1/83).
Dr. Rolland P. Poirier	Retired, (former Chairman, Canada Farm Credit Corporation), Ste-Foy, Quebec.
* Dr. John B. Stewart	Professor, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia.
* Sir Geoffrey M. Wilson	Chairman, OXFAM, Oxford, England.

Order in Council No. P.C. 1981-3023 of October 29, 1981 provides that remuneration of \$250 per day be paid to the Chairman of the Board and \$200 per day be paid to other governors when attending to Centre business, with the excep-

tion of the President who receives a salary set by Order in Council (see below).

As well as the amounts stated above, governors are provided with reasonable travel and living expenses to attend Board meetings or in the course of other Board functions.

The President of the Centre is appointed by Order in Council which also fixes his remuneration within the DM1 salary range \$75,360—\$88,610 (effective April 1, 1982).

EXPORT DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

Ouestion No. 572-Mr. Howie:

What are the (a) names (b) positions of the persons who occupy positions on the Executive and Board of Directors of the Export Development Corporation and, in each case, what amount was he/she paid in respect of that position in the fiscal year ended March 31, 1983?

Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs): Export Development Corporation states that the names and positions of the persons who occupy positions on the Executive and Board of Directors of the Export Development Corporation are as follows:

Chairman of the Board and President

(i) Executive

Mr. W. J. Riva

Mr. W. R. Teschke

Name S. Cloutier

S. Cloutici	Chairman of the Board and Fresident
J. J. R. Arès	Senior Vice President, Export Financing Group
B. A. Culham	Senior Vice President, Finance
D. A. Keill	Senior Vice President, Export Insurance Group
B. R. King	Senior Vice President, Corporate Affairs
M. D. Bakker	Vice President, Corporate Affairs
J. R. Hegan	Vice President, Marketing and Communications
E. G. Law	Vice President, Human Resources and Administration
D. B. Modin	Vice President and Treasurer
J. R. Paquette	Vice President, Export Financing
G. Ross	Vice President, Legal Services and Secretary
(ii) Board of Directors	
Name	Position
Mr. J. A. Armstrong	Retired Chairman of the Board & Chief Executive Officer, Imperial Oil Limited
Mr. P. Berthiaume	President, Le Groupe BST Inc. and la Société d'Automation TECNEX (1983) Ltée
Mr. G. K. Bouey	Governor of the Bank of Canada
Mr. J. L. Bragg	President, Oxford Frozen Foods Ltd.
Mrs. M. Y. Catley-Carlson	President, Canadian International Development Agency
Mr. S. Cloutier	Chairman of the Board and President of Export Development Corporation
Mr. M. A. Cohen	Deputy Minister of Finance
Mr. V. E. Daughney	President, First City Trust
Mr. P. Goyette	President and Chief Operating Officer, Montreal City and District Savings Bank
Mrs. S. Ostry	Deputy Minister, International Trade & Coordinator, International Economic Relations, Department of External Affairs
Mr. M. D. MacDonald	Partner, Parlee, Irving, Henning, Mustard & Rodney, Barristers & Solicitors

Vice Chairman of the Board, Westar Mining Ltd.

Deputy Minister, Department of Regional Industrial Expan-