Federal Business Development Bank Act

Lang) is discussing with the Minister of Transport (Mr. Marchand) and is not sitting at his place. The Chair states that my colleague will ask his question some other day and my colleague remains unsatisfied while this is a matter of high priority and urgency.

Immediately after that, the hon. member for Hastings (Mr. Ellis), on a question of privilege similar to that of my colleague from Bellechasse, asks a question. Before the Chair has a chance to interrupt, the Solicitor General (Mr. Allmand) intervenes and answers the question.

Mr. Speaker, on behalf of my colleagues, I ask you to allow my colleague from Bellechasse to put his question not tomorrow but today, since we have asked only one question because there were so many points of order and abuses in the House today during the question period.

• (1530)

1946

[English]

Mr. Speaker: I listened with interest to the questions of privilege raised by both hon. members and before making a decision in either case I was not only ready, but anxious, that anyone who wished to make any kind of intervention on the question should do so. The position is the same at the present time. If the minister wishes to make an intervention, he may do so.

Mr. Lang: Thank you, Mr. Speaker, for giving me this opportunity. I am glad to say that the Canadian Wheat Board will make every effort to ensure that the supplies which are required are available. There will be some difficult transportation problems this winter, and it will be important for everyone involved in the business of obtaining feed grains to do what they ought to do to get those grains and not rely on the help of the Wheat Board. However, when the chips are down and it is a matter of supplies, the position of the domestic market is, of course, held secure first.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

FEDERAL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT BANK ACT

MEASURE TO ESTABLISH CORPORATION

The House resumed, from Friday, November 29, consideration of Bill C-14, to incorporate the Federal Business Development Bank, as reported (with amendments) from the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs; and motions Nos. 3, 2 (as amended), and 4.

Mr. Speaker: Order. I understand there is agreement that the House should proceed now to the taking of the deferred divisions with respect to several of the motions to amend Bill C-14. Call in the members.

• (1540)

And the Members having been called in. [Mr. Fortin.] Mr. Speaker: Order, please. Although there was some indication at the beginning of the discussion during the report stage on this matter about the grouping of the motions, I understand it was indicated during the course of that discussion that it would be preferable and more orderly to proceed first with the vote on motion No. 3, and, depending on the outcome of that vote, we would then determine what might be done with motion No. 2. Therefore, the question is on Motion No. 3 in the name of Mr. Stevens.

The House divided on Motion No. 3 (Mr. Stevens) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 8)

YEAS

Messrs.

(Qu'Appelle Moose

Gillies

Grafftey

Halliday

Hamilton

Hamilton

Mountain)

Alkenbrack Allard Andre (Calgary Centre) Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Balfour Bawden Beatty Beaudoin Benjamin Blackburn Brewin Brisco Broadbent Caouette (Villeneuve) Carter Clark (Rocky Mountain) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Crouse Dick Dinsdale Dionne (Kamouraska) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Ellis Elzinga Epp Fairweather Forrestall Fortin Friesen Gilbert

(Swift Current-Maple Creek) Hargrave Hees Hnatyshyn Hogan Holmes Horner Howie Huntington Hurlburt Jarvis Johnston Kempling Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) Lawrence. MacDonald (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) MacKay MacLean Macquarrie Malone

NAYS

Messrs.

Breau Buchanan Bussières Cafik Campbell (Miss) (South Western Nova) Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Caron Chrétien December 4, 1974

Masniuk Mazankowski McCain McCleave McKenzie McKinley McKinnon Mitges Muir Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murta Neil Nowlan Nystrom O'Sullivan Paproski Patterson Reynolds Ritchie Roche Rodriguez Saltsman Schellenberger Schumacher Scott Skorevko Smith (Churchill) Stanfield Stevens Stewart (Marquette) Symes Towers Wenman Whiteway Whittaker Wise Woolliams Yewchuk—99

Clermont Collenette Comtois Condon Corbin Corriveau Côté Cullen Cyr

Danson

Daudlin

Anderson Andras (Port Arthur) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Béchard Blais Blaker Boulanger

Abbott

Allmand