to carry out a quasi-diplomatic function. You are receiving visitors from abroad.

I led a delegation to South Korea, and the business of that delegation did not end the night the government was defeated. I had to come back to Ottawa to complete the work. It was a labour of love, but it was not paid labour. I think the supposition that the Deputy Speaker's duties end when a session of parliament ends should be examined with a view to making redress. I do not ask it for myself, and I would refuse it if it were offered, but I ask it in light of your particular circumstances.

There is much more I could say, Mr. Speaker. I never did get around to talking about the ten minute speech as the cornerstone of parliamentary debate, but perhaps I will have an opportunity to do so later in the session.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order, please. I am sure hon. members will allow me to say how thankful I am to the hon. member for his remarks.

It being 9.45 p.m. it is my duty, pursuant to section 6 of Standing Order 60, to interrupt these proceedings and forthwith put the question on the subamendment now before the House.

All those in favour of the amendment to the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Nystrom) which was negatived on the following division:

• (2150)

(Division No. 6)

YEAS

Messrs.

Alexander Alkenbrack Allard Andre (Calgary Centre) Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Balfour Bawden Beatty Beaudoin Benjamin Brewin Brisco Broadbent Cadieu Caouette (Villeneuve)	Cossitt Crouse Dick Dinsdale Dionne (Kamouraska) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan- The Islands) * Ellis Elzinga Epp Fairweather Firth Fraser Friesen Gillies Halliday Hamilton	Hees Hnatyshyn Hogan Howie Huntington Hurlburt Jarvis Jelinek Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) Laprise La Salle Lawrence
Clark (Rocky Mountain) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates	(Qu'Appelle Moose Mountain) Hamilton (Swift Current- Maple Creek)	Lawrence Leggatt MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands)

Division

Messrs

MacKay	Munro	Rondeau
MacLean	(Esquimalt-Saanich)	Saltsman
Macquarrie	Murta	Schellenberge
Malone	Neil	Schumacher
Marshall	Nielsen	Scott
Masniuk	Nowlan	Smith
Mazankowski	Nystrom	(Churchill)
McCain	Oberle	Stanfield
McCleave	Orlikow	Stevens
McGrath	O'Sullivan	Symes
McKenzie	Paproski	Towers
McKinley	Ritchie	Wagner
Mitges	Roche	Wenman
Muir	Rodriguez	Whittaker
		Wise
		Yewchuk-95

NAYS

Messrs.

Abbott	Fleming	MacEachen
Allmand	Flynn	MacFarlane
Anderson	Foster	MacGuigan
Andres	Fox	Marceau
(Lincoln)	Francis	Marchand
Appolloni (Mrs.)	Gauthier	(Kamloops-Cariboo
Baker	(Ottawa-Vanier)	Martin Martin
(Gander-Twillingate)	Gendron	McIsaac
Béchard	Gillespie	McRae
Bégin (Miss)	Goodale	Milne
Blais	Goyer	Morin (Mrs.)
Blouin	Gray	Munro
Boulanger	Guay	(Hamilton East)
Breau	(St. Boniface)	Nicholson (Miss)
Buchanan	Guay	O'Connell
Bussières	(Lévis)	Olivier
	Haidasz	
Caccia	Herbert	Ouellet
Cafik	Holt (Mrs.)	Parent
Campagnolo (Mrs.)	Hopkins	Pelletier
Campbell (Miss)	Isabelle	(Hochelaga)
(South Western Nova)	Jamieson	Pelletier
Campbell	Jones	(Sherbrooke)
(LaSalle-Émard-Côte		Penner
Saint-Paul)	Joyal	Pinard
Chrétien	Kaplan	Portelance
Clermont	Lachance	Poulin
Collenette	Lajoie	Raines
Condon	Landers	Reid
Corbin	Lang	Richardson
Côté	Laniel	Roberts
Cullen	Lapointe	Robinson
Cyr	Leblanc	Roy
Danson	(Laurier)	(Timmins)
Daudlin	LeBlanc	Roy
De Bané	(Westmorland-Kent)	(Laval)
Dionne	Lee	Sharp
(Northumberland-	Lefebvre	Smith
Miramichi)	Lessard	(Saint-Jean)
Douglas	Loiselle	Stollery
(Bruce)	(Chambly)	Tessier
Drury	Loiselle	Trudeau
Dubé	(Saint-Henri)	Turner
Duclos	Lumley	(London East)
Dupont	MacDonald	Turner
Dupras	(Cardigan)	(Ottawa-Carleton)
Duquet	Macdonald	Watson
Faulkner	(Rosedale)	Yanakis
		Young—116.

• (2210)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the subamendment defeated.

Amendment (Mr. Nystrom) negatived.

Mr. Speaker: It being after ten o'clock, this House stands adjourned until 11 a.m. tomorrow, according to Standing Order.

At $10.15~\mathrm{p.m.}$ the House adjourned, without question put, pursuant to Standing Order.