electricity demand, high initial investment costs and shortage of capital. In addition, restrictions have been imposed on nuclear supplies ever since India, a non-party to the NPT, took advantage of the lenient pre-NPT safeguards applied to its nuclear activities to explode a nuclear device.

In 1977, a group of nuclear suppliers, the so-called London Club, drew up a list of materials, equipment and technology which should "trigger" IAEA safeguards when exported to non-nuclear weapon states not party to the NPT (the parties having already accepted the requirement for safeguards on all their nuclear activities). The Guidelines for Nuclear Transfers agreed by the London Club require the recipients of the trigger-list items to provide effective physical protection for these items, and to pledge not to use them for the manufacture of nuclear explosives. The safeguards requirements apply to any "replicated" facility, that is, of the same type as the imported facility but constructed indigenously within a specified period.

Retransfers of trigger-list items are to be subject to the same conditions as those attached to the original transfer. In the event of the diversion of materials or a violation of the supplier/recipient understandings, the members of the London Club should consult promptly on possible common action. Moreover, "restraint" is recommended in the transfer of sensitive facilities, such as uranium enrichment and plutonium reprocessing plants. Significantly, this restraint is to be exercised not only with respect to non-parties, but also with respect to parties to the NPT. In 1978 the US unilaterally set even sterner restrictions on nuclear supplies by adopting the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Act (NNPA).

Spokesman of many countries, especially from the Third World, have criticized the restrictive measures taken by the suppliers as an infringement of the right to nuclear supplies implied in NPT Article IV. Their argument is that, once governments have accepted the safeguards provided for in Article III, no further limitation should be placed on peaceful nuclear programmes. The Committee on Assurances of Supply which was set up by the IAEA to consider and advise on "ways and means in which supplies of nuclear material, equipment and technology and fuel cycle services could be assured on a more predictable and long-term basis in accordance with mutually acceptable considerations of non-proliferation" has not, as yet, produced agreed principles of international cooperation. Also the UN conference on the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, which met in Geneva in March-April 1987, failed to work out such principles, mainly because non-parties to the NPT refused to take account of nuclear-weapon proliferation concerns related to supplies of nuclear material and equipment.

Peaceful Nuclear Explosions

Under Article V of the NPT, the potential benefits of peaceful applications of nuclear explosions are to be made available by the nuclear weapon parties to non-

STATES PARTY TO THE NON-PROLIFERATION TREATY AS OF MAY 1989*

TREATY AS OF MAY 1989*			
	Afghanistan	Germany, Federal	Panama
	Antigua and	Republic of	Papua New Guinea
	Barbuda	Ghana	Paraguay
	Australia	Greece	Peru
	Austria	Grenada	Philippines
	Bahamas	Guatemala	Poland
	Bahrain	Guinea	Portugal
	Bangladesh	Guinea-Bissau	Qatar
	Barbados	Haiti	Romania
	Belgium	Holy See	Rwanda
	Belize	Honduras	Saint Lucia
	Benin	Hungary	Saint Vincent
	Bhutan	Iceland	and the
	Bolivia	Indonesia	Grenadines
	Botswana	Iran	Samoa
	Brunei	Iraq	San Marino
	Darussalam	Ireland	São Tomé and
	Bulgaria	Italy	Principe
	Burkina Faso	Jamaica	Saudi Arabia
	Burundi	Japan	Senegal
	Cameroon	Jordan	Seychelles
	Canada	Kenya	Sierra Leone
	Cape Verde	Kiribati	Singapore
	Central African	Korea, Democratic	Solomon Islands
	Republic	People's Republic	
	Chad	Korea, Republic of	Spain
	Colombia	Lao People's	Sri Lanka
	Congo	Democratic	Sudan
	Costa Rica	Republic	Suriname
	Côte d'Ivoire	Lebanon	Swaziland
	Cyprus	Lesotho	Sweden
	Czechoslovakia	Liberia	Switzerland
	Democratic	Libya	Syria
	Kampuchea	Liechtenstein	Thailand
	Democratic	Luxembourg	Togo
	Yemen	Madagascar	Tonga
	Denmark	Malawi	Trinidad and
	Dominica	Malaysia	Tobago
	Dominican	Maldives	Tunisia
	Republic	Mali	Turkey
	Ecuador	Malta	Tuvalu
	Egypt	Mauritius	Uganda
	El Salvador	Mexico	USSR
	Equatorial	Mongolia	United Kingdom
	Guinea	Morocco	United States
	Ethiopia	Nauru	Uruguay
	Fiji	Nepal	Venezuela
	Finland	Netherlands	Vietnam
	Gabon	New Zealand	Yemen Arab
	Gambia	Nicaragua	Republic
	German Demo-	Nigeria	Yugoslavia
	cratic Republic	Norway	Zaire

^{*} Kuwait has signed but so far not ratified the Treaty. Taiwan has signed and ratified the Treaty, but is no longer recognized as a state by the United Nations.