for the guidance of the Acting Secretary-General who was invited to take them into consideration in presenting his own considered views on the question at the seventeenth session.

In accepting office, the new Acting Secretary-General declared his intention to invite a limited number of persons who were already Under-Secretaries or were to be appointed as Under-Secretaries, to act as his principal advisers on important questions entrusted to him. In late December, U Thant announced the appointment of three new Under-Secretaries: Mr. Godfrey Amachree of Nigeria, Mr. Omar Loutfi of the United Arab Republic, and Mr. Jiri Nosek of Czechoslovakia. These three were to serve as principal advisers to the Acting Secretary-General with the following five members of the Secretariat: Mr. Georgy Petrovitch Arkadiev (U.S.S.R.), Dr. Ralph Bunche (U.S.A.), Mr. Philippe de Seyne (France), Mr. Chakravarthi V. Narasimhan (India) and Mr. Hermane Tavares de Sa (Brazil). In making these appointments, the Acting Secretary-General emphasized that the arrangement was "without prejudice to such future organizational changes as experience may reveal to be necessary".

Pressures for more equitable geographical representation were experienced in other directions. On the initiative of 19 Latin American members, consideration was given to the enlargement of the nine-member Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ) to provide for African representation. Initially, there appeared to be wide support for an increase in the membership by two seats for this purpose and a Latin American-African draft resolution was submitted to this effect. Soviet bloc members took advantage of the debate to try to acquire another seat for the bloc. They argued that the Soviet Union, by its Great Power status, had a seat on the ACABQ, but that there was no other opportunity for Eastern Europeans to participate in its work. Accordingly, they submitted an amendment to the 36-nation draft resolution to provide for Eastern European representation as well as African.

After much discussion in the corridors a compromise was reached by which an increase by three seats was accepted, but all wording concerning the specific allocation of these seats was omitted. The resolution on enlargement was adopted in Committee by a vote of 81 in favour with none against and 6 abstentions (Belgium, Canada, China, Italy, South Africa and the United Kingdom); and it was later approved unanimously in plenary. In the elections which followed, members from Chile, the United States and the United Kingdom were elected for three of the existing seats which were up for election, and members from Sudan, Nigeria and Romania were elected for the three new seats. The number of votes cast for the Romanian Representative (41 of a total of 61) indicated that a number of delegations considered that this seat was not an Eastern European seat by right and that candidates from other regions might be put forward in the future.

101