MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, April 20th, 1967. 1 03

Pursuant to adjournment and notice the Standing Committee on Banking and Commerce met this day at 9.30 a.m.

Present: The Honourable Senators Hayden (Chairman,), Baird, Blois, Brooks, Burchill, Connolly (Ottawa West), Cook, Croll, Flynn, Gouin, Irvine, Isnor, McDonald, Molson, Pearson, Pouliot, Smith (Queens-Shelburne) and Vaillancourt. (18)

In attendance: E. Russell Hopkins, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

On motion of the Honourable Senator Croll it was *Resolved* to report, recommending that authority be granted for the printing of 800 copies in English and 300 copies in French of the proceedings of the Committee on Bill S-59.

Bill S-59, "An Act to amend the Canadian Citizenship Act", was read and considered.

The following witnesses were heard:

Department of the Secretary of State:

The Honourable Judy LaMarsh, Secretary of State.

G. G. E. Steele, Under-Secretary of State.

W. R. Martin, Registrar of Canadian Citizenship.

O. A. Martin, Assistant Head, Examination, Division, Citizenship Registration Branch.

On Motion of the Honourable Senator Pearson it was *Resolved* to report the said Bill with the following amendment:

1. Page 2: Immediately after line 20, add the following as new subclause (4):

(4) Subsection (8) of section 10 of the said Act is repealed and the following substituted therefor:

"Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (c) of subsection (1) does not apply to a person who

- (a) has resided continuously in Canada for a period of one year immediately preceding the 1st day of June, 1956, and had been admitted to Canada for permanent residence prior to the 31st day of December, 1956, and, in addition, has also resided in Canada for a further period of not less than four years during the six years immediately preceeding the 1st day of June, 1953: or
- (b) acquired Canadian domicile before the coming into force of this paragraph.

At 10.30 a.m. the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chairman.

Attest.

10

Frank A. Jackson, Clerk of the Committee.