The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Is the House ready for the question?

Some Hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): The question is on Motion No. 13 standing in the name of the Hon. Member for Vancouver Kingsway (Mr. Waddell). All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Pursuant to Standing Order 114(11), a recorded division on the proposed motion stands deferred.

The House will now proceed to taking up the deferred divisions at the report stage of the Bill now before the House.

Call in the Members.

• (1650)

And the division bells having rung:

Mr. Speaker: The first vote will be on Motion No. 1. Mr. Waddell moved:

Motion No. 1

That Bill C-5, be amended in Clause 3 by striking out lines 4 to 8 at page 4 and substituting the following therefor:

"3. For greater certainty, nothing in this Act abrogates or derogates from any aboriginal title, right, claim or interest that pertains to the, or any of the, aboriginal people of Canada."

The House divided on Motion No. 1 (Mr. Waddell), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 4)

YEAS

Members

Althouse	Ерр	Johnston
Axworthy	(Thunder Bay-	(Saint-Henri-
Berger	Nipigon)	Westmount)
Blackburn	Foster	Kaplan
(Brant)	Gagliano	Keeper
Blaikie	Garneau	Killens
Boudria	Gauthier	Langdon
Broadbent	Grav	MacLellan
Caccia	(Windsor West)	Malépart
Copps	Grondin	Manly
de Corneille	Guilbault	Marchi
Dingwall	(Saint-Jacques)	McCurdy
	Неар	
	Henderson	

Canada Petroleum Resources Act

McDonald	Nunziata	Tardif
(Broadview-Green-	Parry	(Richmond-Wolfe)
wood)	Penner	Tobin
Mitchell	Pépin	Waddell—45
Murphy	Riis	
Nicholson	Robichaud	
(Trinity)	Rossi	
	NAYS	

Members

Andre	Fennell	McKenzie
Beatty	Ferland	McKinnon
Belsher	Fretz	McMillan
Bernier	Gagnon	Merrithew
Binns	Girard	Minaker
Bissonnette	Greenaway	Mitges
Blackburn	Guilbault	Moore
(Jonquière)	(Drummond)	Mulroney
Blais	Halliday	Nicholson
Blenkarn	Hamelin	(Niagara Falls)
Bouchard	Hamilton	Nickerson
Bourgault	Hardey	Oberle
Bradley	Harvey	O'Neil
Brightwell	Hawkes	Oostrom
Brisco	Hicks	Paproski
Cadieux	Hnatyshyn	Plourde
Caldwell	Hockin	Porter
Cardiff	Holtmann	Price
Champagne	Horner	Redway
(Saint-Hyacinthe-	Howie	Reid
Bagot)	James	Reimer
Champagne	Jardine	Ricard
(Champlain)	Jelinek	St-Julien
Charest	Jepson	Schellenberg
Clark	Johnson	(Nanaimo-Alberni)
(Brandon-Souris)	(Bonavista—Trinity—	Schellenberger
Clinch	Conception)	(Wetaskiwin)
Comeau	Joncas	Scott
Cooper	Kempling	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Cossitt	Kilgour	Siddon
Côté	Landry	Sparrow
(Lac-Saint-Jean)	Layton	Stewart
Côté	Lewis	Taylor
(Langelier)	MacDonald	Towers
Crofton	(Kingston and	Tupper
Crosbie	the Islands)	Valcourt
(St. John's West)	MacDougall	Vankoughnet
Crouse	(Timiskaming)	Vézina
Darling	MacKay	Vincent
Daubney	Malone	Weiner
de Cotret	Mantha	White
Della Noce	Marin	Winegard
Desjardins	Martin	Wise
Dick	Masse	Witer—122
Domm	Mayer	
Duguay	Mazankowski	
Duplessis	McCrossan	
PI I		

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

McDermid

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, considering that there are seven more votes to go, I wonder if I would not find support from all Hon. Members to consider the vote on Motion 1 to be the same as for Motions Nos. 2, 4, 9, 10 and 13?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Edwards

Mr. Shields: Mr. Speaker, I was not here for the first vote. I would like to be included on the government side for the votes on those motions.

Mr. Speaker: The vote is in the negative.