CONGRATULATIONS

DFAIT WAS CERTAINLY well represented at the 2008 Public Service Award of Excellence. Four awards were granted to departmental employees on June 16. Recipients of the 2008 Public Service Award of Excellence included **Passport Canada**, nominated by Leonard Edwards, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, for the award for Exemplary Contribution under Extraordinary Circumstances.

Philip Baines, Senior Advisor, Science and Technology, in the Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Division (IDA), received the Management Excellence award for his leadership in ensuring Canada's position as a leader in remote-sensing technology.

Tony Cantin, Director, Administration and Consular Services, Canadian Trade Office in Taipei, won the Youth Management Excellence award for inspiring his team to be committed to excellence and accountability.

Cyrille Sanchez, Strategic Communications Officer at the Embassy of Canada to France, was part of the team that worked on the 2007 Vimy Event, a ceremony to rededicate the Canadian National Vimy Memorial in France. The team, nominated by Suzanne Tining, Deputy Minister, Veterans Affairs Canada, was given the award for Management Excellence.

DEPUTY MINISTERS' AWARDS

THIS YEAR MARKED the first annual Deputy Ministers' Awards, which recognize individual or collective achievement of excellence by DFAIT employees. The 2008 awards this year went to the following people:

Jon Dundon was presented with the Deputy Ministers' Award for Lifetime Achievement. Mr. Dundon's expertise in trade mission logistics spans 25 years and has been a contributing factor to the tremendous success of the Team Canada missions.

Helen Pandelides was also presented with the Deputy Ministers' Award for Lifetime Achievement. Ms. Pandelides, a locally engaged employee since 1954, has shown tremendous dedication to the Canadian embassies in Cairo and Athens in a career that included political, commercial and administrative positions.

Jerry Kramer received the Deputy Ministers' Outstanding Award of Excellence. As counsellor at the mission of Canada to the United Nations in New York, Mr. Kramer has been instrumental in advancing management reform and budgetary discipline at the UN.

Sally Dowe-Marchand was presented with the Deputy Ministers' Award for Excellence in Service Delivery. Ms. Dowe-Marchand worked tirelessly to provide consular services to Canadian citizens as the case management officer for Mexico and South America, one of the busiest and highest-profile regions for the department.

The MARCUS (Measuring Achievements and Results by Canada in the U.S.) Development Team was presented with the Deputy Ministers' Award for Management Excellence. This team of forward-thinkers, led by Michel Têtu, undertook the task of developing a tool to measure results and target expectations in the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) at posts in the United States.

The Montebello Summit Team, led by Peter Boehm, was awarded a citation in Management Excellence for their tireless efforts in organizing and coordinating the Summit. The team's ability to respond to challenges given difficult security situations and schedule changes, as well as to coordinate intergovernmental groups and North American partners, was praised by Presidents Bush and Calderón.

The New Way Forward "Role" Team was presented with a citation for Excellence in Service Delivery. Through an extensive consultation exercise, the "Role" Team, led by Weldon Epp, defined and aligned the Political/Economic work of the department.

Team Cairo was also awarded a citation for Excellence in Service Delivery. The Trade team of the mission in Cairo, led by Ambassador Philip MacKinnon and Senior Trade Commissioner Richard Dubuc, played an active role in highlevel interventions with the Egyptian government in order to support and defend a major Canadian investment in a urea fertilizer plant in Egypt, valued at \$1.46 billion.





John Dundon receives his award.



Helen Pandelides poses with the deputy ministers.