## PART I.

## THE COURTS HAVING ORIGINAL JURIS-DICTION IN CRIMINAL ACTIONS.

XVII. The following are the Courts of Justice in this Province, having original jurisdiction of criminal actions:

- 1. The several courts of Queen's Bench:
- 2. The Court of Common Pleas.
- 3. The Courts of Assize:
- 4. The Courts of Oyer and Terminer:

These are all Courts of Record, and have original jurisdiction in all matters of criminal offences, and exercise all such powers as are delegated to them by statute or according to the laws now in force in either section of the Province therefor, together with such other powers, jurisdiction and authority as shall be and are specially delegated to them or either or any of them by this Act, or by the Criminal Code.

5. The Courts of General Sessions of the Peace.

These are also Courts of Record and exercise original jurisdiction in criminal matters, except in the following:

Treason and Misprision of Treason;

Offences against the Queen's person, authority or government, inferior to Treason, and other offences contained in the 2nd chapter of the Criminal Code;

Homicide, and other offences contained in the 15th chapter of the said Code:

Perjury and subornation thereof;

Duel and Challenge;

Forgery, and other offences connected therewith, in the 18th chapter;

Bigamy and Incest;

Bribery.

6. The Police and Magistrate's Courts.

XVIII. These last Courts have summary jurisdiction over the following public offences committed in their respective jurisdictions, and over all such other offences as are specially subjected to their jurisdiction by this Act or the Criminal Code, or by any statute not repealed by this Act or the said Code.

1. Assault and battery, not charged to have been committed riotously, or upon a public officer in the execution of his duties, or with a felonious intent: