PRESIDENT W. L. McGregor - - - - - Windsor CHAIRMAN OF THE EXECUTIVE A. O. Dawson - - - - - - Montreal VICE-CHAIRMEN OF THE EXECUTIVE C. L. Burton - - - - - - Toronto M. W. Wilson - - - - - Montreal HONORARY TREASURER C. S. Macdonald - - - - - Toronto VICE-PRESIDENTS - Winnipeg Duncan Cameron - - - - -J. A. Clark - - - - - Charlottetown J. G. Harrison - - - - - Saint John John M. Imrie - - - - - Edmonton J. A. LaRue W. H. Malkin - - - - - Vancouver Frank A. Rolph - - - - - Toronto J. M. Stevenson - - - - Saskatoon A. H. Whitman - - - - - - Halifax



ADVISORY COUNCIL

J. H. Woods, Chairman Calgary
G. E. Barbour Saint John
G. H. Barr, K.C Regina
E. W. Beatty, K.C Montreal
W. M. Birks Montreal
S. B. Gundy Toronto
G. C. McDonald Montreal
James Richardson Winnipeg
John W. Ross Montreal

NATIONAL COUNCILLORS

John Burns Calgary
P. B. Fowler Victoria
H. T. Malcolmson Hamilton
John McEachern Winnipeg
C. B. McKee Regina
H. P. Robinson Saint John
C. R. Rogers Summerside
C. H. Wright Halifax

SECRETARY

W.	McL.	Clarke	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	Montreal

Cable Address - - - - "Canchamber"

The Board of Trade Building, Montreal, August 22nd, 1932.

Sir Arthur Currie, G.C.M.G., K.C.B., Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University, Montreal.

Dear Sir Arthur Currie:-

Economy in Public Finance

Since inviting you to act on our National Committee on Economy in Governments, and since receiving your acceptance, we have been quietly going ahead with the preliminary plans for the organization of the work.

It is most gratifying to me to have received the co-operation of so many prominent leaders throughout the provinces whose support is indicated in the acceptances as set out in the attached sheet. There are a few gentlemen yet to hear from before the Committee is finally announced. A Chairman will also be selected.

Our Executive have been giving consideration to the practical functioning of the Committee and it was decided to invite Mr. W. Sanford Evans of Winnipeg to head up a sub-committee which will carry on the research connected with the enquiry and to prepare the briefs for the main Committee's consideration. Mr. Evans has therefore been retained by the Canadian Chamber and his sub-committee will consist of professors of economics from some of our Canadian Universities, together with Dr. H. L. Brittain, Director of the Citizens' Research Institute, and the Secretary of the Canadian Chamber.

The National Committee will be kept advised as to the progress being made and it is hoped sometime during the autumn months to have as many members of the main Committee as is possible meet either in Montreal or Toronto.