Atlantic Development Board Act

Mr. Sharp (for the Minister of Finance) No. C-94, for granting to Her Majesty certain sums of money for the public service for the financial year ending the 31st March, 1964.

Motion agreed to and bill read the first

Mr. Deputy Speaker: When shall this bill be read the second time? Now?

Mr. Knowles: By leave.

Mr. Pickersgill (for the Minister of Finance) moved that the bill be read the second time.

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and the house went into committee thereon, Mr. Lamoureux in the chair.

On clause 1-Short title.

Mr. Pickersgill: Before clause 1 carries, I feel I should, on behalf of the government, give the customary assurance in the customary words. The proportions requested in this bill are intended to provide for all necessary requirements of the public service up to September 30, 1963. In no instance is the total amount of an item being released by this bill. The form of this bill is the usual one for interim supply bills. The passing of this bill will not prejudice the rights and privileges of members to criticize any item in the estimates when it comes up in committee of supply, and the usual undertaking is hereby given that such rights and privileges will be respected and will not be curtailed or restricted in any way as a result of the passing of this measure.

Clause agreed to.

Clauses 2 to 4 inclusive agreed to.

Schedules agreed to.

Preamble agreed to.

Title agreed to.

Bill reported and read the third time and passed.

## ATLANTIC DEVELOPMENT BOARD ACT

ANNOUNCEMENT OF NEW APPOINTMENTS TO BOARD

Hon. J. W. Pickersgill (Secretary of State): Before we go on to the private members' business which was agreed on earlier I wonder if I might be allowed to revert to motions in order to make a brief statement to the house.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is that agreeable? Some hon. Members: Agreed. [Mr. Pickersgill.]

Mr. Pickersgill: I wish to announce the thereupon moved for leave to introduce Bill names of the six new members of the Atlantic development board, whose appointments were approved today by His Excellency the Governor General.

> Hon. members will recall that parliament approved these new appointments recently when it passed amendments to the Atlantic Development Board Act, one of these amendments being designed to increase the number of members on the board from five to eleven.

> The new chairman of the board is Ian Malcolm MacKeigan, Q.C. of Halifax, Nova Scotia. Mr. MacKeigan has had a distinguished career at the bar of Nova Scotia since he was admitted in 1939 and during the war and afterwards he held high offices in the service of this government here in Ottawa. He is presently a vice president of the Canadian Bar Association for Nova Scotia and is also extremely active in community organizations. Mr. MacKeigan's term on the board will expire on January 23, 1966.

> The two other members whose terms will also expire on that day are Robert C. Eddy of Bathurst, New Brunswick, and Albert Martin of Corner Brook, Newfoundland.

> Mr. Eddy served overseas during the second world war with the Canadian army, was wounded in action and was awarded the military cross. After the war he served on the staff at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, and since 1946 he has been employed by the George Eddy Company Limited in Bathurst, New Brunswick. He is a director of his company and several other firms in Bathurst. He is the chairman of the board of school trustees in Bathurst and a member of the board of governors of the Atlantic provinces economic council.

> Mr. Albert Martin is president and general manager of the Bowater's Newfoundland Pulp and Paper Mills, Limited, and is also president of the Mersey Paper Company, Limited, in Liverpool, Nova Scotia. In the first world war he served overseas with the royal Newfoundland regiment, having joined the regiment when he was 15 years of age. Since 1923 he has been employed steadily by the Bowater's organization and by its predecessor companies and he served in various positions with the company before his appointment as president in 1962.

> Three other members of the board have been appointed for terms of two years which will expire on January 23, 1965. They are Carl F. Burke of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Captain Maxwell Burry of Glovertown, Newfoundland and Stephen A. Dolhanty of Florence in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia.