10. Glossary

ACCESSION: The process of becoming a contracting party to a multilateral agreement. Negotiations with established members of the WTO, for example, determine the concessions (trade liberalization) or other specific obligations a non-member country must undertake before it is entitled to full WTO membership benefits. (Accession)

ANTI-DUMPING: Additional duties imposed by an importing country where imports that are priced at less than the "normal" price charged in the exporter's domestic market, or less than their full cost, are found to be causing material injury to the domestic industry in the importing country. (Antidumping)

APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum. Comprises 21 countries around the Pacific Rim that seek further Asia-Pacific economic cooperation. Members are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, Korea (Republic of), Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Thailand, United States and Vietnam. (APEC: Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique)

CA4 (Central America Four): El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Currently in free trade negotiations as a group with Canada. (Groupe des quatre de l'Amérique Centrale)

CAIRNS GROUP: A coalition of 19 agriculture-exporting countries (Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Thailand, Uruguay) that cooperate in the context of multilateral trade negotiations. (Groupe de Cairns)

CCFTA: Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement. Implemented July 5, 1997. (ALECC: Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili)

CCRFTA: Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement. Entered into force on November 1, 2002. (ALECCR: Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Costa Rica)

CIFTA: Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement. Implemented January 1, 1997. (ALECI: Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël)

DISPUTE SETTLEMENT: Those institutional provisions in a trade agreement that provide the means for settling differences of views between the parties. (Réglement des différends)

DOHA DEVELOPMENT AGENDA: The agenda of World Trade Organization negotiations, launched at the Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in November 2001. (Programme de Doha pour le développement)

EFTA: European Free Trade Association. When founded via the Stockholm Convention in May 1960, EFTA had seven members. Since its founding, the composition has changed as new members joined and others have acceded to the EU. Currently, there are four members: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. (AELE: Association européenne de libre-échange)