## **REPORT OF THE CANADIAN DELEGATES**

TO THE

## EIGHTH ASSEMBLY OF THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS

## To His Excellency the Governor General in Council:

The Eighth Ordinary Assembly of the League of Nations was held in Geneva in September, 1927, from September 5 to September 27.

## ORGANIZATION

Forty-nine states members were represented. Bolivia, Honduras, and Peru were, as usual, not represented; Brazil and Spain, which gave notice of withdrawal from the League in 1926, did not send delegates; and the Argentine Republic, which has abstained since the Second Assembly, was not represented, though it is now making its contributions to the League. A German delegation was present for the first full session. The delegates to the Assembly included one president, two prime ministers, and twenty-one foreign ministers. Canada was represented by Hon. R. Dandurand, Leader of the Government in the Senate; Hon. C. Stewart, Minister of the Interior; O. D. Skelton, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Hon. Philippe Roy, Commissioner-General of Canada in France; and W. A. Riddell, Canadian Advisory Officer, League of Nations.

The Assembly elected M. Guani of Uruguay as President, and the following as Vice-Presidents:—

M. Scialoja (Italy).

M. Briand (France).

Sir Austen Chamberlain (Great Britain).

M. Stresemann (Germany).

M. Nemours (Haiti).

Count Mensdorff-Pouilly-Dietrichstein (Austria).

Upon adoption of the agenda, the various questions were divided among the usual six committees through which the greater part of the work of the Assembly is done, and chairmen were elected as follows:—

First Committee, Legal and Constitutional Questions: M. Adatei (Japan).
Second Committee, Technical Organizations: R. Dandurand (Canada).
Third Committee, Reduction of Armaments: E. Benes (Czechoslovakia).
Fourth Committee, Budget and Financial Questions: W. J. M. van Eysinga (Netherlands).

Fifth Committee, Social and General Questions: C. J. Hambro (Norway). Sixth Committee, Political Questions: J. Bech (Luxemburg).

The chairmen, in addition to presiding over the deliberations of their respective committees, are by virtue of their office Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, and form, along with the President and other Vice-Presidents, the General Committee of the Assembly.

55461-13