- 1897. Yukon Territory organized with Dawson as capital.
- 1898. Two cent postage adopted.
- 1900. Death of Premier Marchand, of Quebec; Parent, premier.
  Governor McInnis, of British Columbia, dismissed. Laurier government sustained at the polls. Hon. R. P. Roblin, premier of Manitoba.
- 1901. Queen Victoria died, and was succeeded by her son as Edward VII. Telegraph system extended to Yukon.
- 1902. Lord Dufferin died. Ross Government sustained by a small majority at the polls.
- 1903. Sir Oliver Mowat, Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, died.
- 1904. Laurier Government sustained again at the polls.
- 1905. Ross Government suffers a crushing defeat at the polls. Mr. Whitney, premier, formed a government that met the House on 22nd of March. Parent, premier of Quebec, resigned, owing to ill health; Gouin, premier. The North-West Territories sub-divided into two provinces, named Saskatchewan and Alberta, with Regina as the capital of the former and Edmonton of the latter.