assistant ditto; S. P. May, clerk of libraries; T. Churchill, depository

elerk; J. T. R. Stinson, assistant clerk.

Council of Public Instruction.—Hon. S. B. Harrison, Rev. Dr. Ryerson, Right Rev. Dr. Charbonnel, Rev. H. J. Grassett, Hon. J. C. Morrison, J. S. Howard, Rev. Dr. Jennings, Rev. Dr. Lillie, Rev. Dr. Barclay; J. G. Hodgins, secretary.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF CANADA.

Hon. U. J. Tessier, Speaker.

Members .- Lanark and Renfrew.

Hon. R. Matheson, Life Member, Perth P. O.

Hon. James Shaw, Bathurst Division, Smith's Falls P. O.

Hon. James Skead, Rideau Division, Ottawa City P. O.

Permanent Officers.—J. F. Taylor, clerk and master in chancery; B. Lemoine, deputy and assistant clerk, master in chancery and French translator; Fennings Taylor, deputy and assistant clerk; master in chancery and chief office clerk; J. E. Doucet, clerk of private bills; W. A. Maingy, 2nd office clerk; James Adamson, clerk of the English journals; R. G. Belleau, clerk of French journals; A. A. Beucher, French translator; A. Garneau, additional French translator; Rev. W. Agar Adamson, D.-L., chaplain and librarian; E. L. Montizambert, A.M., law clerk, French translator, and clerk of committees; René Kimber, gentleman usher of the Black Rod; O. Vallerand, sergeant-at-arms.

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY.

HON. L. WALLBRIDGE, Speaker.

Members .- Lanark and Renfrew.

Alexander Morris, South Riding, Lanark, Montreal P. O. Robert Bell, North Riding, Lanark, Carleton Place P. O. Robert McIntyre, Renfrew, P. O.

PERMANENT OFFICERS.

CHIEF DEPARTMENT.—W. B. Lindsay, clerk; G. M. Muir, and Alfred Patrick, clerks assistant.

LAW DEPARTMENT.—G. W. Wicksteed, law clerk; F. Badgley, and E. P.

Dorion, assistant clerks.

ACCOUNTANT'S DEPARTMENT.—T. Vaux, accountant; J. Stansfeld, assistant accountant and bookkeeper.

DEPARTMENT OF ROUTINE AND RECORDS.—W. Spink, clerk of routine and records.

GENERAL DEPARTMENT.—W. P. Patrick, chief office clerk, H. Hartney, assistant office clerk, and clerk to printing committee.

COMMITTEE DEPARTMENT.—A. Patrick, chief clerk of committees and controverted elections.

PRIVATE BILL DEPARTMENT.—A. Todd, clerk of votes and chief clerk of private bills; T. Patrick, assistant clerk of private bills, and clerk of railway committee.

TRANSLATOR'S DEPARTMENT.—E. P. Dorion, chief French translator; W. Fanning, French translator of the journals and votes and proceedings; G. Coursolles, assistant French translator; J. F. Gingras, J.