2. Immediately after the election of the above officers the President shall nominate four standing committees, consisting each of not more than six members one on Business (including all business of a general nature,) fone on Devotion, one 'on Resolutions, and one on Credentials.

3. All resolutions submitted to the Convention shall be in writing, and after being proposed and seconded shall be referred to the proper committee, who shall have power to transmit or reject.

4. The usual fules of order in deliberative assemblies shall prevail, and the ruling of the chairman shall be final.

5. Speakers shall be limited to five minutes each, and shall not speak more than

once on the same subject, without permission. 6. The order of each day's proceedings shall be as follows :-Devotional Exercises, Reading Minutes, call for Resolutions and Propositions, Reading of Communications, Reports of Committees, Unfinished Business.

On motion of Mr. J. K. Blair, of Truro, seconded by Mr. Moore, of Charlottetown :-- "All clergymen members of Associations and visiting brethren, not accredited delegates, were ap-

8

R.

pointed Corresponding Members of the Convention." On motion of Mr. Thompson, of Moncton, seconded by Mr. Humphries of same place, the following brethren were constituted a Committee on Permanent Organization, viz :- Messrs. Sandham, Toronto; Irvine, St. John; Cushing, Montreal; Blanchard, Truro; Rev. Mr. Mallory, Quebee; F. Moore, Charlottetown; S. Lindsay, of Mosquodobuit; J. W. Bickle, Cobourg, and Mackay, Pictou.

During the absence of this Committee on business, short addresses were given by the Hon. P. C. Hill, of Halifax, Rev. Mr. Porter, of St. Catharines, and Mr. Wm. Cummings, of Truro, in which they forcibly gave their experience of the benefit of the work of the Association.

Mr. Sandham, Chairman of Committee on Organization, then reported the result of their business session for which they had asked leave to retire.

PRESIDENT :---

## F. W. Hales, Charlottetown, P. E. I.

## VICE-PRESIDENTS :--

John C. Thompson, Quebec. A. Hewson, Cobourg. W. McCully, Truro. J. E. Irvine, St. John

James Somerville, Queen's College, Kingston.

NOBRI CON

## SECRETARIES :---

## J. N. Shannon, Halifax. D. A. Budge, Montreal. A. H. Mackay, Pictou.

The following Business Committee was appointed-T. S. Cole, Quebec; Chairman; Messrs W. Paul, Montreal; I. M. Hutchings, St. John; I.W. Bickle, Cobourg; I. F. Blanchard, Truro. The following Devotional Committee was appoint ed:- ].