FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES AND RESEARCH GENERAL STATEMENT The Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research directs and controls all the courses leading to the higher degrees and recommends candidates for these degrees. The members of the Faculty are the Deans of the other University Faculties and all Professors, and Associate Professors, who conduct advanced courses of study or who superintend advanced research work offered to students registered for the degrees awarded by the Faculty. Other persons, whether members of this university of of other universities or institutions of scholarship or research such as the Archives Department, Biological Stations, etc., may be elected members of the Faculty in full session upon proper notice of motion. Hembers who are not otherwise members of this university shall be designated "Non-resident members". There shall be an Executive Committee of the Faculty Commission of two members appointed by and from each Divisional Committee, and including the Dean, this Committee shall, subject to the direction and approval of the Faculty, deal with all matters of general policy and over all executive matters as, for example. the annual calendar, the preparation of the annual announcement. finances, fees, registration, and all matters of routine. There shall be two main divisions of the Faculty to be known as "The Arts Division" and "The Science Division" respectively. The Arts Division shall include the following departments of study, viz., Classics, Economics and Political Science, Education, English, Germanic Languages, History, Oriental Tanguages, Philosophy, Romance Languages, and Sociology. The Science Division shall include all other departments of study represented in the Faculty: The Departments of Mathematics and Psychology shall, however, be members of both Divisions. These Divisions shall have full power to discuss all matters and to make all rules and regulations affecting the admission of students to their departments and the requirements for all degrees awarded for work in these departments. Each Division shall meet at least once annually in the month of April for the election of officers and of committees and for general business. Each Division of the Faculty shall elect annually a Divisional Committee of not less than four, and not more than eight, including the Dean; the one to be called "The Committee

Divisional Committee of not less than four, and not more than eight, including the Dean; the one to be called "The Committee of Graduate Studies in Arts"; and the other "The Committee of Graduate Studies in Science". These Committees shall, subject to the direction and approval of their proper Divisions, have power ever the academic records of all students, including the proper lectures, seminars, and all other forms of graduate study. When the Dean of the Faculty has any doubt that a student's qualifications for admission or his subsequent record is entirely satisfactory, he shall call these cases specially to the attention of the proper committee for its decision. These Committees shall also recommend all candidates for degrees to the Faculty

The Dean shall be a member of and Chairman of both Divisions, and of all general committees of the Faculty, and all meetings thereof shall be called by him or under his direction.

ADMISSION

Latleast

Advanced courses of instruction are offered to students who are graduates of any university of recognized standing. These students are generally those who have a second class honour standing or the equivalent of at least second class honours from McGill University in the subject in which they desire to take their major work. Admission to these advanced courses does not in itself imply candidacy for a higher degree.