Income Tax Act

passage of the tax reform bill. Democracy means rule by a majority of votes, not obstruction by a minority of votes.

If one examines the records of the provincial legislatures from coast to coast in Canada today one finds that no provincial assembly tolerates filibuster and delay which have the effect of hindering democratic, legislative progress. However, Mr. Speaker, because of antiquated procedural practices, not all of which are the fault of the opposition, the legislative process in the House of Commons sometimes grinds to a halt. The opposition obstructs, be it Conservative, NDP or Créditiste or even Liberal. The rules have not provided proper time limits for debate in the past. At last we have passed a reasonable rule creating limitation of debate.

In conclusion, Mr. Speaker, may I be permitted to say that fundamentally we will all have made a great contribution to the advancement of Canadian parliamentary democracy by supporting this motion.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. It being 4.09 o'clock p.m., the two hours provided for consideration of the motion now before the House under Standing Order 75C have now expired. Accordingly, under the terms of the said Standing Order it is my duty to interrupt the proceedings and put every question necessary to dispose of the said motion.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. MacEachen) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (4:20 p.m.)

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blouin Borrie Boulanger Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Cantin Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Corbin Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Cvr Danson Davis Deachman Deakon De Bané Drury Dubé Dupras Duquet

YEAS

Messrs:

Émard Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goode Goyer Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Haidasz Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kierans Lachance Laflamme Laing (Vancouver South) Lajoie Langlois Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle)

Aiken Alexander Alkenbrack Asselin Baldwin Barnett Bell Benjamin Bigg Blackburn Brewin Burton Cadieu Carter Coates Code Crouse Danforth Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne Douglas Downey Fairweather Flemming Forrestall Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Grills Harding Harkness Hees Horner

Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) L'Heureux Lind Loiselle Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacEwan McBride McIlraith McNulty Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison O'Connell Olson Orange Osler Otto Pelletier Penner Pepin Perrault Portelance Pringle Reid Richard Richardson

Messrs:

Roberts Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Sharp Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford Stanbury Stewart (Cochrane) Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) Sulatvcky Sullivan Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Wahn Walker Weatherhead Whelan Whicher Whiting Yanakis-123.

NAYS

Messrs:

Howe Knight Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Edmonton West) Laprise Latulippe Lewis Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacKay MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Marshall Mather Matte Mazankowski Monteith Muir Murta Nesbitt

[Mr. Gibson.]