roy crossing of some quagmire, than the oak planks of a real platform. Sir John Abbott bravely stuck to his post till the highest medical authorities in Britain insisted on his retirement; and then came a condition of affairs which has had no precedent in Canada. A distinguished jurist, pressed to leave the bench of his native Province by friends, who believed that critical political time he could render important service to his country in political life, with a return afterwards to the judicial life for which all his habits, training and liking fitted him, finds himself in a position where he must become Prime Minister of Canada; and we are bound to believe with the greatest possible reluctance patriotically consents, and having consented, leaves behind the hope of that quiet life he looked forward to, and addresses himself to the work of forming a ministry, a short review of which we shall give, as showing the wisdom of his choosing, and how utterly unjust is the assertion persistently spread by his opponents, that his religious views would bias his selection of the men to form the Privy Council of Canada. The following is the official list of the new ministers:

First Minister, Minister of Justice and Attorney General—Sir John Thompson.

Minister of Trade and Commerce—Hon. Mackenzie Bowell.

Postmaster General—Sir Adolph P. Caron.

Secretary of State-Hon. John Costigan.

Minister of Finance—Hon. George E. Foster. Minister of Marine and Fisheries —Hon. Charles H. Tupper.

Minister of Railways and Canals

-Hon. John G. Haggart.

Minister of Public Works—Hon. J. A. Ouimet.

Minister of Militia and Defence

Hon. J. C. Patterson.

Minister of the Interior—Hon. T. M. Daly.

Minister of Agriculture—Hon. A. R. Angers.

President of the Privy Council—Hon. W. B. Ives.

Without portfolio-Hon. Frank Smith.

Without portfolio-Hon. John Carling.

Solicitor General of Canada—Mr.

J. J. Curran, Q. C.

Controller of Customs—Mr. N. Clarke Wallace.

Controller of Inland Revenue—Mr. J. F. Wood.

It will be seen that, with the Premier, they number seventeen, of whom 14 form the Cabinet, and of these only twelve have portofolios. They are all native Canadians but two, Hon. M. Bowell and Hon. Frank Smith. Of the Ministers, three only are French-Canadians, out of the seventeen; four are Orangemen, and among these first in the list after Sir John the III himself, is the honoured name of Mackenzie Bowell, always staunch friend of Manitoba and the Northwest; and with our trusty Daly of the number, there is little to fear from the Bug-bear of French domination which the "Basswood" party so persistently holds up before our eyes.

None of the new men whom Sir John has added to the Cabinet, are new to political life. Clarke Wallace has been in the House fourteen years, and has been a power there