58 MURRAY: LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN MARITIME PROVINCES

two districts, making altogether twenty-four rural nunicipalities. These are again divided into polling districts, each of which is entitled according to population to at least one representative in the council. Only in one instance has a polling district as many as three representatives. The qualifications of municipal councillors and of voters are the same as those required of members and voters for the House of Assembly, except that since 1887 the franchise has been given to unmarried women, assessed for \$150 realty or \$300 personalty.

The elections are held on the same day throughout the province. Councillors previously sat for one year; but since 1892 their term is three years. Like the provincial Assembly the council chooses its presiding officer (the warden) at the first session after election, grants an indemnity (\$2 a day and 5 cents a nule) to its members and an additional sum (\$50) to the warden. It has power to assess for enumerated purposes, chief among which are the support of the poor, prevention of disease, administration of justice, court house and jail, protection from fires, bounties for certain wild animals, ferries and markets, roads and bridges (not exceeding \$1,000 unless with the approval of the Governor-in-Council). Districts within a municipality may petition for the privilege of assessing for specified purpose: and be rated accordingly. Loans for current purposes are limited to \$2,000 subject to the approval of the Governor-in-Council. A contingent fund of \$500 is permitted. All by-laws are, however, subject to the approval of the Governor-in-Council.

The Municipal Act for New Brunswick differs but slightly from the Nova Scotia Act. Each parish of a county is entitled to two councillors. The Act provides for a one year term of office unless the council decides upon biennial elections. In St. John county the elections are triennial. The indemnity is larger in New Brunswick and the property qualifications are higher.

The powers are similar; but the approval of the Governorin-Council is not required for by-laws. All officers are appointed by the council for one year except the clerk and treasurer, who, however, are removable by the council. In certain parishes the appointment of constables is not made in the usual way. In the parishes of Dorchester, Shediac and Moncton, of the county of

[252]