is not permanent and is appointed by, the Government for each session).

- ii. Council. (Canada has always been a member and was re-elected at the 1953 Rome Conference for a further term of membership).
- 3. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (1946)
 - i. General Conference. (Canada sends delegates to each session of the General Conference. Delegations comprising delegates, alternates and advisers are not permanent and are appointed by the Government for each successive session).
- 4. International Civil Aviation Organization (1947)*
 - i. Assembly. Brig. C. S. Booth, Permanent Delegate of Canada to ICAO; .-H. A. L. Pattison, Deputy Delegate.
 - ii. Council. Brig. C. S. Booth, Permanent Delegate of Canada to ICAO.
- 5. International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (1946).
 - i. Board of Governors. Governor: D. C. Abbott, Minister of Finance; Alternate: J. J. Deutsch, Department of Finance.
 - ii. Executive Directors. Director: L. Rasminsky, Bank of Canada.
- 6. International Monetary Fund (1945)
 - i. Board of Governors. Governor: D. C. Abbott, Minister of Finance; Alternate: G. F. Towers, Governor of the Bank of Canada.
 - ii. Executive Directors. Director: L. Rasminsky, Bank of Canada.

7. Universal Postal Union (1875)

i. Universal Postal Congress. (Canada, as a member of the UPU, is represented at each meeting of the Congress, usually held at intervals of five years. Canadian Delegations are appointed by the Government for each meeting. The next (14th) Congress of the UPU will be held in Ottawa in 1957).

8. World Health Organization (1948)*

i. World Health Assembly. (Canada as a member of the WHO, sends delegations to each annual session of the Assembly. Delegations are not permanent and are appointed by the Government at each session).

ii. Executive Board. Dr. P. E. Moore, Department of National Health and Welfare, serves as- an independent expert on the Executive Board.

9. International Telecommunication Union (1947)

i. Plenipotentiary Conference. (Canada, as a member of ITU, is represented at the Conference which meets every five years. Canadian Delegations to the Conference are appointed by the Government for each session).

ii. Administrative Council. C. J. Acton, Department of Transport.

iii. Administratice Conferences. (These meet in principle at the same time and place as the Plenipotentiary Conference and, as a rule, every five years. Canadian representatives at the Administrative Conference usually form part of the Delegation appointed by the Government to represent the country at the Plenipotentiary Conference).

10. Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization**

11. International Trade Organization**

i. General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (1947). (The General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade is an international trade agreement. It is not a Specialized Agency of the United Nations, but is serviced by the Secretariat of the Interim Commission of the International Trade Organization (ICITO). The regular sessions of the contracting parties are, as a rule, held once a year and these sessions are supplemented by intersessional meetings at the call of the Secretariat. Canada is one of the original contracting parties).

12. World Meteorological Organization

- i. Executive Committee. A. Thompson, Department of Transport.
 - ii. Regional Association 1. President: A. Thompson, Department of Transport.

* The Specialized Agencies marked with an asterisk set up from time to time, through their main organs, standing bodies, committees or commissions, in which Canada may or may not be invited to participate. Because of the large number of such bodies, committees or commissions to which Canada is a party, and their relative importance, it has been felt that they might be excluded from this list.

** Canada has indicated its willingness to become a member of each of these Organizations once they have been formally established, and is at present a party to the principal preparatory organs of these proposed. Agencies set up at the instigation of the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations in 1946 and 1947 respectively.

_∕ **3**9