GA CANADA

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 50

FOR RELEASE IN PAPERS OF SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 20, 1952

The Secretary of State for External Affairs today announced the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Seventh Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations, which opens in New York on October 14. The Delegation is as follows:

Representatives:

Mr. L.B. Pearson, M.P. - Secretary of State for External Affairs (Chairman of the Delegation).

Mr. Paul Martin, M.P. - Minister of National Health and Welfare (Vice-Chairman of the Delegation).

Senator Gordon B. Isnor

Mr. A.Y. McLean, M.P.

Mr. D.M. Johnson, Canadian Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York.

Alternate Representatives:

Mr. C.P. Hebert, Canadian Ambassador to Mexico

Mr. K.W. Taylor, Assistant Deputy Minister of Finance

Mr. J. Leger, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Mr. Edgar McInnis, President of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs.

Mrs. Louis Berger, Executive Secretary of the Canadian Cancer Society, Quebec Section.

Advisers for the Delegation will be drawn from the Department of External Affairs and the Department of Finance in Ottawa, and from the Canadian Permanent Delegation to the United Nations in New York. Parliamentary observers will be added to the Delegation and their names will be announced in a later release.