by CIP absorbing the other institution or by CIP being absorbed by the other institution, or by disappearing both institutions and creating a new one as a result of the merging.

ARTICLE 48.- The merging agreement should be adopted with the requirements established in Article 29.

TITLE X

TRANSITORY PROVISIONS

ARTICLE 49.- About the composition of the first Board of Trustees: The first Board of Trustees will be composed of the following persons, each of them for the term indicated below:

- (a) Members proposed by the host country:
- By the Minister of Agriculture: Dr. Josefina Takahashi, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- By the National Agrarian University: Dr. Klaus Raven, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2002.
- (b) Members proposed by the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR):
- 1. Mrs. Alicia Bárcena, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- 2. Dr. Ren Wang, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- 3. Dr. Eija Pehu, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2002.
- (c) The Director General of the Center, Dr. Hubert Zandstra, who is empowered with all the faculties granted by these Statutes and those that Board of Trustees would grant him/her additionally.
- (d) Members selected by the Board of Trustees:
- 1. Dr. M.S.U. Chowdhury, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- 2. Dr. Chukichi Kaneda, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2002.
- 3. Dr. David MacKenzie, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- 4. Dr. Theresa Sengooba, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2000.
- 5. Dr. Koenraad Verhoeff, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2001.
- 6. Dr. Vo-Tong Xuan, for a 3 year term which will finish on April 30th, 2002.

Lima, on November 26th, 1999.

