(28)

Spring Wheat Seed for Ontario

THE world demand for wheat in 1918 justifies the greatest possible effort towards increased production. The small acreages of Fall Wheat put in last fall will mean increased acreage in Ontario available for Spring Wheat. The Ontario Government is co-operating with the farmers in order to provide seed. It has purchased 50,000 bushels of No. 1 Marquis Spring Wheat Seed through the Seed Branch of the Federal Department of Agriculture. More will be purchased if necessary to fill needs.

Distribution

Seed is sold only in 2-bushel bags. Carloads will be placed at certain points in the Province where less than carload orders can be filled, the purchaser paying local freight from such distributing point to his own station. Where Farmers' Clubs or other organizations buy in earload lots, the price at their local stations will be the same as at distributing points.

Where to Buy

Purchases may be made either in the warehouse at the distributing points, or orders may be placed with the nearest District Representative of the Provincial Department of Agriculture, or they may be sent direct by mail to the Markets Branch, Department of Agriculture, Parliament Buildings, Toronto.

Payment in Cash

Price is \$2.74 per bushel at distributing points. In all cases, without exception, cash must accompany order. Send remittance by cheque, postal note, post office or express money order made payable to Ontario Department of Agriculture, Markets Branch.

Order Early

In the event of the requirements of the Province being underestimated, there may not be enough seed to go around. It is advisable in order to insure having their orders filled that purchasers should place orders as soon as possible. All orders are subject to confirmation and will be filled in the order received. As seed is delivered in 2-bushel bags, order should be for even numbers of bushels, and no order for less than 2 bushels can be accepted.

Names of Distributors at local points will be announced later. Distributing points at present decided are: Hamilton, Woodstock, St. Marys, London, Chatham, Toronto, Brampton, Newmarket, Barrie, Orillia, Brantford, Simeoe, Welland, Orangeville, Alliston, Listowel, Durham, Palgrave, Stouffville, Lindsay, Oshawa, Peterboro', Port Perry, Port Hope, Kemptville.

Ontario Department of Agriculture

MARKETS BRANCH

PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, TORONTO

SIR WM. H. HEARST. Minister of Agriculture

DR. G. C. CREELMAN, Commissionerof Agriculture

