APPENDIX

(See p. 45.)

REPORT OF THE FOURTEENTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CANADA-UNITED STATES INTERPARLIAMENTARY GROUP

A number of special circumstances have surrounded the holding of the Fourteenth Meeting of the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group, in Ottawa and Montebello, from February 16th to 20th, 1972.

First, it is remembered that the Fourteenth Meeting had originally been scheduled to take place in May, 1971, but had to be postponed at the last minute when it became clear that a sudden surge in important legislative business would prevent the delegates from the United States Congress from leaving Washington.

As it turned out, 1971 did not elapse without members from both sides of the Group coming together for discussions. The opportunity arose from last summer's international monetary crisis and from the steps taken immediately by the United States Government to remedy this crisis and to restore the United States serious balance of payment situation to a healthier and more stable position. The increasingly grave impact which these steps were having on the Canadian economy prompted the Canadian Co-Chairmen of the Group, the Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons, to request from the United States Co-Chairmen, Senator Frank Church and Congressman Cornelius Gallagher, a special meeting of the Group to consider these urgent matters. The United States Co-Chairmen agreed without hesitation and offered to host such a meeting in Washington. A Canadian parliamentary delegation led by the Speaker of the House of Commons, then left for the United States Capital for the one-day meeting which was held on November 11th, 1971. This precedent in the Group's history was looked upon favourably by all delegates at the 1972 meeting. It was agreed that if at any time one side wishes urgently to discuss any problem of mutual importance, it should approach the other side regarding the possibility of holding a special meeting. This decision will undoubtedly lead to increased use of the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group as the only instrument of joint consultation that regularly brings together the lawmakers from both countries.

Although the opportunity was missed last year to host the United States delegates in a more gentle season, the February 1972 dates have proven very timely, falling as they did in the middle of a new important phase in the United States economic re-adjustments and in the current round of trade negotiations between the United States and Canada.

The Fourteenth Meeting also coincided for the first time with the opening of a new session of the Canadian Parliament. The United States delegates and their wives were invited to the Senate Gallery to listen to the Speech from the Throne read by His Excellency the Governor General, the Right Honourable Roland Michener.

Composition of Delegations

In addition to the two Co-Chairmen, Senator Frank Church (Idaho) and Congressman Cornelius E. Gallagher (New Jersey) and Senator George Aiken (Vermont), former United States Senate Co-Chairman, the United States delegation consisted of the following members: from the Senate, Honourable Ernest F. Hollings (South

Carolina), Honourable William B. Spong, Jr. (Virginia), Honourable John Sherman Cooper (Kentucky), Honourable Marlow W. Cook (Kentucky), Honourable Ted Stevens (Alaska), Honourable Robert T. Stafford (Vermont); and from the House of Representatives, Honourable Harold T. Johnson (California), Honourable William J. Randall (Missouri), Honourable Peter N. Kyros (Maine), Honourable Samuel S. Stratton (New York), Honourable Lloyd Meeds (Washington), Honourable Claude Pepper (Florida), Honourable J. J. Pickle (Texas), Honourable James Harvey (Michigan), Honourable Robert C. McEwen (New York), Honourable F. Bradford Morse (Massachusetts), Honourable Henry P. Smith III (New York) and Honourable Frank Horton (New York).

The Canadian delegation was led jointly by the Honourable Jean-Paul Deschatelets, P.C., Speaker of the Senate and the Honourable Lucien Lamoureux, Q.C., M.P., Speaker of the House of Commons. The other members were: from the Senate, Honourable John J. Connolly, P.C., (Ontario), Honourable Douglas Everett (Manitoba), Honourable Salter Hayden (Ontario), Honourable Alan A. Macnaughton, P.C., (Quebec), Honourable L. Beaubien (Quebec), Honourable M. Grattan O'Leary (Ontario), and from the House of Commons, Messrs. H. Breau (New Brunswick), L. Francis (Ontario), Russell Honey (Ontario), R. Kaplan (Ontario), Fernand Leblanc (Quebec), J. Pringle (British Columbia), H. Stafford (Ontario), J. Trudel (Quebec), G. Baldwin (Alberta), W. Carter (Newfoundland), H. Danforth (Ontario), R.G.L. Fairweather (New Brunswick), J.P. Nowlan (Nova Scotia), P. Yewchuk (Alberta), A. Brewin (Ontario), J. Burton (Saskatchewan) and Oza Tétrault (Quebec).

Agenda

The Agenda for the discussions was worked out by agreement between the four Co-Chairmen. The following topics were chosen for discussion for each Committee.

Trade and Economic Matters

1. World trade in the 1970's. (export subsidies, nontariff barriers, regionalization)

2. Problems of conservation in the Maritime environment

3. Trans-boundary pollution

4. Energy relationships

5. Foreign ownership and the multinational corporation

6. The effect of Technology on democratic institutions and human values.

Defence and Security Matters

1. The place of developing countries in world political and economic order

- 2. European security problems
- 3. Relations with Communist China
- 4. Relations with India, Pakistan and Bangla Desh
- 5. Political implications of E.E.C. enlargement

Briefing sessions on the Agenda topics were organized for the Canadian delegates by the Inter-Parliamentary