In addition, under Section 95 the Parliament of Canada may make laws in relation to agriculture and immigration concurrently with provincial legislatures, although in the event of conflict federal legislation is paramount. By the British North America Act 1951 (14-15 Geo. VI, c.32), it was declared that the Parliament of Canada might make laws in relation to oldage pensions in Canada, but that no such law should affect the operation of any provincial laws in relation to old-age pensions.

## shall govern Canada but, by deciding which party receives thesenat enterest

From an original membership of 72 at Confederation, the Senate, through the addition of new provinces and the general growth of population, now has 102 members, the latest change in representation having been made on the admission of Newfoundland to Confederation in 1949.

## The House of Commons of the themselve grisery ed woulfreyo may be

In Section 37 of the British North America Act of 1867, it was provided that: "The House of Commons shall, subject to the provisions of this Act, consist of 181 members, of whom 82 shall be elected for Ontario, 65 for Quebec, 19 for Nova Scotia, and 15 for New Brunswick." Further, under Section 51, it was enacted that, after the completion of the census of 1871 and of each subsequent decennial census, the representation of the four provinces should be readjusted by such authority, in such manner, and from such time, as the Parliament of Canada provided, subject to and according to certain rules set out in the original Act. Membership in the House of Commons was accordingly increased from time to time until it reached 255.

In 1949, as a result of the union of Newfoundland with Canada, provision was made for the Province of Newfoundland to be represented by seven members in the House of Commons (the British North America Act, 1949). This increased the number of Members of Parliament to 262. By Chapter 15 of the Statutes of 1952, the Parliament of Canada, acting under the authority conferred by the British North America Act of 1949, amended Section 51 of the British North America Act, providing for a new method of re-adjustment of representation in the House of Commons. Pursuant to this amendment a new Representation Act was passed (R.S.C. 1952, c.334 as amended), providing for a total of 265 members of the House of Commons.

The representation of the various provinces is as follows under Section 2 of the Act, as substituted by 1962 Statutes of Canada, c.17:

"Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, 75 for the Province of Quebec, 12 for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, 14 for the Province of Manitoba, 22 for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, 17 for the Province of Saskatchewan, 17 for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of 265 members."