possible abrogation of the Trusteeship Agreement for French Togoland and the delimitation of the frontier between Ethiopia and Somaliland under Italian administration. The discussions in the Fourth Committee are reported in more detail in the following sections of this chapter.

Trust Territories

The Trusteeship Council held three sessions in the period under review, its regular nineteenth session from March 14 to May 15, 1957, its regular twentieth session from May 20 to July 12, 1957, and a special session to consider the report of the Commission to the Trust Territory of French Togoland from September 12 to 20, 1957. During this period the Standing Committee on Administrative Unions, the Standing Committee on Petitions, the Committee on Rural Economic Development of the Trust Territories, the Committee on Communications from the Cameroons under French Administration, and the Committee on Procedures regarding Petitions also held meetings. (The Council had some 2,700 petitions on its agenda but was only able to dispose of slightly over 600 of them.)

The Council is composed of the seven members which administer trust territories, the permanent members of the Security Council which are not administering powers (China and the USSR) and as many other members elected by the General Assembly for three-year terms as ensure that the total membership of the Council is equally divided between administering and non-administering powers.

During its regular sessions the Council discussed the annual reports submitted by the administering powers on the following territories: Tanganyika, Ruanda-Urundi, Somaliland under Italian administration, Cameroons under United Kingdom administration, Cameroons under French administration, Togoland under French administration, Western Samoa, New Guinea and Nauru; it considered their political, economic, social and educational advancement and the establishment of intermediate target dates and final time limits for their attainment of self-government or independence.

During 1957 the Council arranged for a visiting mission to visit the three trust territories in East Africa—Somaliland under Italian administration, Tanganyika under United Kingdom administration and Ruanda-Urundi under Belgian administration. The report of this visiting mission, which was composed of Representatives of Australia, Burma, France and Haiti, will be considered at the twenty-first and twenty-second sessions of the Council in 1958.

Trust Territories of the Cameroons

In its consideration of the Council's report the Fourth Committee devoted considerable time to a detailed discussion of the conditions in the trust territories of the Cameroons, and particularly the Cameroons under French administration where there had been manifestations of active political unrest and a number of arrests. Petitioners from five political organizations in the territories were heard by the Committee. The most insistent demand made by the petitioners was for the eventual unification of the two territories. The Representatives of the United Kingdom and France reported on the progress which, in their estimation, had been made in the Cameroons. At present under the Trusteeship Agreement, the Northern Cameroons under United Kingdom administration is administered as an integral part of Nigeria and the Southern Cameroons is administered separately. Before Nigeria becomes an independent federation the peoples of both North and