cipal towns Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide; 2. The Islands, the principal of which are: Tasmania or Van Diemen's Land: Papua, or New Guinea; New Ireland, New Britain, Solomon, or the archipelago of New Georgia; the achipelago of La Perouse; New Hebrides; Terra del Espiritu Santo, New Caledonia, and Louisade Islands.

Polynesia.—Polynesia, on the east, is, for this reason, called Eastern Oceanica. It is divided into three parts: southern Polynesia, south of the equator; northern Polynesia, and Micronesia.

Southern Polynesia comprises: the Fee-jee Islands, the Friendly Islands, Society Islands, the Low Islands, the Marquesas Isles, New Zealand, &c.

Northern Polynesia contains but one archipelago: the Sandwich Islands.

Micronesia comprises: the Magellan archipelago; Ladrone, or Marian Islands; the Caroline or New Philippines; Gilbert's, Anson's, and the Sporades Corialis, which comprise all the scattered islands in the north.

Progress.—Steam, transporting man in a few days from one hemisphere to the other, and in a few hours from one capital to another; electricity, transmitting his thoughts even, in a few moments to the extremities of the globe; a sub-marine cable between Ireland and Newfoundland, uniting the Old continent to the New; the Canal of Suez, bringing the half-civilized Oriental nations into the vicinity of European civilization; a railway from the Atlantic to the Pacific, in the United States; and a line of steam-boats between San-Francisco and Hong-Kong, bearing the surplus population of China into the almost uninhabited deserts of America; a tunnel under