Coupal, Coursol, Currier, Cuthbert, Daoust, Desaulniers, Desjardins, Domville, Drew.

Longley, Macdonald (Kings), Mackenzie, McCallum, McInnes, McQuade, Manson, Massue,

Sutherland, Tassé, Tellier, Thompson, Vallée, Vanasse, Weldon, and Wright.—82.

Mr. Robertson (Hamilton) then moved in amendment, that the Bill be re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, with instructions that they have power to amend Section 19, by adding the words "Great Western Railway Company, and," after the words "Credit Valley Railway Company," wherever they occur in the said Session; which was agreed to.

The Bill was accordingly re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, considered,

amended in accordance therewith, reported, and the amendment agreed to.

And the question being again put, that the Bill be now read a third time;

Mr. Currier moved in amendment, that the Bill be again re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, with instructions that they have power to add a Clause providing that the Company shall pay to H. J. Hubertus, the sum of Two thousand dollars to indemnify him as the original promoter of a line of Railway between the City of Ottawa and the City of Toronto; said sum to be paid within six months after the

passing of the Act; which was negatived.

Mr. McCuaig then moved in amendment, that the Bill be again re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, with instructions that they have power to add a Clause, providing that this Act shall go into force on the first day of January, 1882, but not then if the Toronto and Ottawa Railway Company shall have satisfied the Governor in Council that they are proceeding bond fide with the construction of their Railway and that the same will be completed from Toronto to Ottawa within three years; which was negatived on a division.

Mr. Macdonell (Lanark) then moved in amendment, that the Bill be again re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, with instructions that they have power to expunge from Section 3 the words "and Perth with power to construct a branch line to the Town of Lanark;" which was negatived on the following divi-

sion :-

YEAS:

Messieurs

Anglin, Bain, Béchard, Blake, Borden, Burnham, Burpee (St. John), Burpee (Sunbury), Cameron (Huron), Casey, Charlton, Fleming, Gillies,

Gillmor, Hilliard, Huntington, Jackson, King, Lane, McDonald (Victoria, N. S.), Rymal, Macdonell (Lanark), MacDonnell (Inverness), Mackenzie, McCuaig, McDougall, Mills,

Paterson (Brant), Pickard, Platt, Robertson (Shelburne), Rogers, Ross (Middlesex), Scriver, Snowball, Trow, Weldon, Wheler, and

Yeo. -39.