General Statement.

SESSION OF 1883-84.

The Fifty-first Session of the University, being the Thirty-first under the amended Charter, will commence in the Autumn of 1883.

By Virtue of the Royal Charter, granted in 1821 and amended in 1852, the Governors, Principal and Fellows of McGill College constitute the Corporation of the University; and, under the Statutes framed by the Board of Governors, with approval of the Visitor, have the power of granting Degrees in all the Arts and Faculties, in McGill College, and Colleges affiliated thereto.

The Statutes and Regulations of the University have been framed on the most liberal principles, with the view of affording to all classes of persons the greatest possible facilities for the attainment of mental culture and professional training. In its religious character the University is Protestant, but not denominational; and while all possible attention will be given to the character and conduct of students, no interference with their peculiar religious views will be sanctioned.

The educational work of the University is carried on in McGill College, Montreal, and in the Affiliated Colleges and Schools.

I. MCGILL COLLEGE.

- THE FACULTY OF ARTS.—The complete course of study extends over four Sessions, of eight months each : and includes Classics and Mathematics, Experimental Physics, English Literature, Logic, Mental and Moral Science, Natural Science, and one Modern Language, or Hebrew; all which subjects are imperative in the first two years of the course; but in the third and fourth years options are allowed in favour of the Honour Courses in Classics, Mathematics, Mental and Moral Science, Natural Science, and English Literature. Certain exemptions are also allowed to professional Students. The course of study leads to the Degrees of B.A., M.A., and LL.D.
- THE FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE provides a thorough professional training, extending over three or four years, in Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering and Assaying, and Practical Chemistry, leading to the Degrees of Bachelor of Applied Science, Master of Engineering, and Master of Applied Science.
- THE FACULTY OF MEDICINE.—The complete course of study in Medicine extends over four Sessions, of six months each, and leads to the Degree of M.D., C.M. . There is also a Summer Course, which is optional.
- THE FACULTY OF LAW.—The complete course in Law extends over three Sessions, of six months each, and leads to the degrees of B.C.L., and D.C.L.