Moved by Mr. F. E. R. Wollaston (Kelowna), seconded by Mr. W. C. Ricardo (Coldstream),

"That the Dominion and Provincial Governments be asked to undertake surveys in British Columbia (as has already been done in the Northwest), to ascertain the extent and condition of the watersheds, the amount of water available, and the extent of irrigable lands." Carried.

Moved by Mr. V. D. Currie (Kamloops), seconded by Mr. E. M. Carruthers (Kelowna),

"That this Convention strongly recommends the Provincial Government to provide adequate protection to the owners of stored water in conveying the same to their ditch heads." Carried.

PROFESSOR CARPENTER.

Professor Carpenter, of Colorado, gave a very interesting address. He compared conditions in Colorado and British Columbia—conditions in some respects quite similar. He favored a record based on a sliding scale—more in July and less in May. The rights of each man on a stream must be adjusted—the sooner the better.

In regard to the area of watershed which would be required to supply an acre of irrigable land, Mr. Carpenter thought that a fair estimate would be from 4 to 6 acres of watershed to each acre of land to be watered.

Mr. Blyth, who has had much experience in irrigation in India, gave an account of conditions there. He outlined the system of Government ownership there, described some of the works, and outlined their methods of distribution of the water.

In India it was calculated that the value of the crops saved in one famine year by means of irrigation exceeds the capital cost of the canals.

The water rate was assessed on the acreage irrigated, not by the amount of water consumed; that system had been found to work well and economically as regards expenditure of water under the intermittent system universally adopted.

Papers by Mr. V. D. Currie and Mr. A. E. Ashcroft, of Vernon, were taken as read and ordered to be printed in the proceedings.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS, ETC.

The following are the names of the officers elected:-

Honorary President—His Honor Lieutenant-Governor Bulyea, of Alberta.

President-Mr. J. S. Dennis, Calgary.

First Vice-President-Hon. F. J. Fulton, Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works, Victoria, B.C.